LIMITED SUPPLY

My father just died. I wrote this in anticipation of his death. I won’t be online for a week or so. I hope everyone stays well. God bless.

Of time, indeed, to offer up so much to idle endeavors with nothing left up your sleeve
Like a magician with a faulty gag running out of cocktails to consume

Of double duty nurses in an emergency room to protest as water to run the falls dries by dawn

Of make-believe to summon a scourge of courage and rally the foes of technology

Of sunshine in a seventies paneled room enticing all inhabitants to hibernate until the first glimmer from the rising day.

Of darkness in the Alaskan wilderness where the light subsists and pries sleeping eyes to never relieve in slumber

Of patience toward an autistic child capable of more

Of character to fight against corruption

Of desire to do something great and a willingness to relate

Of oxygen and dying air, the last puff goes in and no more will follow into the hollow where my friend once lived.

20 thoughts on “LIMITED SUPPLY

  1. My prayers go out to you. I will be facing the same challenge very soon with my mother, so I feel for you.
    Take care.
    I wish I had something more comforting to offer, but what can you say to assuage someone’s pain at losing their parent? God Bless.

  2. Dear Cathy,
    i am so sorry you are experiencing this. It is hard to lose a parent – And I appreciate where you are. Just know that there are those who would make it better if they could – they can’t, but we care enough to want to.

    Luv and (((hugs)))

    Jo

  3. I too am very sorry to hear this. They say pain can be the best muse to those who are creative. I have to say this piece is stunning. Stay strong and I wish you all the best.

  4. I’m so so sorry to hear about this, I’ll be thinking of you and my thoughts and prayers are with you and your family; sorry i didn’t stumble across this sooner! Stay strong xxx

Leave a Reply

