The thrusting nature of greatness

this poem was inspired by the Foo Fighters, My Hero and the quote from Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night: “…but be not afraid of greatness: some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon ’em.”

My Hero – Lyrics

I forgot to pay for my pizza and soda today at lunch time.
That’s a gimme five bucks or should I go back to the pizza place and cough it up?

Bullies in a schoolyard
do I keep my mouth shut?
they don’t bother me but I watch others tortured
silently

Government keeps invading my life
do I resign myself to taking it up the ass?
or do I fight them in my own way
keeping vigilant to their awesome power plays

Stayin sober in the midst of inebriating circumstance
my hand twitches toward that bottle
can I resist?
bitter seduction when everything seems like shit

losin a job when you need to pay the rent
life’s alterations from all right to where the money went

shaking out a blanket
perhaps a fortune will fall out
left to wonder
what the future’s all about

corruption in its infant stages seems so harmless
a nickel and dime affair that will lead nowhere
too bad
but it turns on that dime into an abyss of regret

driving a little reckless
in a hurry for jr’s soccer game
oopsie, think you hit a pedestrian
do you run away?
or face the horrifying fact that you might have killed someone

should we live our lives every day as the villain
but choose heroism in time slots determined by destiny

so many opportunities to do the right thing
we let them go to waste
merely thinking we’re fabulous
when really we’re not that great

In case you are wondering, there is much supposition in this one.

19 thoughts on “The thrusting nature of greatness

  1. I was just reflecting this morning after a comment on my own blog that some years ago I had to give up my role as a knight in shining armour – the constant polishing was just too blasted hard!!!

    ๐Ÿ™‚

    David

  2. i like that song… ๐Ÿ™‚
    and Everlong and Aurora, too – u heard that? it’s cool.

    that last stanza is rhymey.

    i was thinking about the whole running over pedestrian things one or two days ago…
    it’s a pretty scary scenario I think..
    especially in India… things really get out of hand when someone gets killed like that…
    fires and fights ensue… :-/

    wasn’t some celebrity knocked down while jogging recently?
    ๐Ÿ˜€ i can’t imagine how that must have happened…
    probably had her headphones on
    or the drivers “hand twitches toward that bottle” when he’s driving ๐Ÿ™‚

    • Everlong – great song, the vid is seriously hysterical. Never heard Aurora, I’ll check it out though. Yes, well my sister was actually hit by a car a few years ago. She didn’t sustain any real injuries but it makes me so much more aware of a.) when I’m driving around people and b.) when I’m walking around cars. RE: reaction in India to a run over pedestrian – that is out of hand. re: celebrity – it was probably both.

  3. Oh Cathy – how I LOVE your titles. They cause me to race over. Again ’twas not to disappointment. Thoughtful subject. I’ve been in some of those places – and not always been the hero. These days I try. If it is because i want to lead by example to my kids, or that I am fearful my time is shortening to do the right thing I don’t know – but I loved the way you put these sentiments together on the page. ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Theres a lot to like about this post. The title, the video (very cool by the way) and the words.
    When I put all this together, I am caused to think that being a hero is a lot like sex. Theres mediochre sex or theres fantastic sex. Its all a matter of priorities and studying. ๐Ÿ˜€ The things that come easy are easy to forget. The things that require work, sweat, or tears.. those are the things we will cherish forever.

    I visited last night, but couldnt play the video because hubby was sleeping.

    • Thank you. Hmmm, yes that’s a different angle but a good analogy. I think also sometimes you might want to invest in an endeavor where there is some benefit to yourself or the ones you love without losing yourself entirely to ruin. So you should be selective when it comes to attempting acts of heroism as well as choosing a lover.

  5. Pingback: Foo Fighters My Hero Lyrics

Leave a Reply

