Three Heel Clicks: Act Three, a play in three acts

Act One     Act Two

ACT III. SCENE 1. INT. LUCY’S FAMILY HOME. LIVING ROOM – EARLY MORNING.
BETH is set up on the sofa with an IV and is reclined with her head propped up with a few pillows. DAN is sitting in the chair next to the sofa and is reading a book to BETH. BETH’S eyes are closed but she is awake and listening.

DAN DEVILLE
“Come, you spirits that tend on mortal thoughts! unsex me here, and fill me from the crown to the toe, top-full Of direst cruelty; make thick my blood, Stop up the access and passage to remorse, That no compunctious visitings of nature Shake my fell purpose, nor keep peace between The effect and it! Come to my woman’s breasts, And take my milk for gall…”
(during DAN’S speech, the front door opens and closes and footsteps and the dropping of duffle bag are heard as LUCY enters from backstage right. LUCY tentatively enters the room waiting for a good place to interrupt. DAN hears LUCY and looks over his shoulder.)
Hey Lucy! I’m so glad you are here.
(BETH does not open her eyes. Her expression turns sad)
And so is mom.
(LUCY approaches her mom)

LUCY DEVILLE
Hey mom! What’s going on here? I thought you would be making me breakfast or something.

BETH DEVILLE
(chuckles)
Oh, no. I’m far too tired. You will have to make the breakfasts from now on.
(DAN’S head falls in sadness and BETH smiles sardonically with closed eyes)

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh, mom.
(LUCY sits beside her mother and takes her hand and rubs it.)
You can still beat this if you try. Don’t give up.

BETH DEVILLE
(opens her eyes and lifts her head so that she is eye to eye with LUCY)
I know when I’m beaten.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom.

BETH DEVILLE
Dan, can you please give us some time alone.

DAN DEVILLE
Okay.
(to LUCY)
Call me if you need me.
(LUCY nods in agreement)

LUCY DEVILLE
So mom…

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting)
This is very important. Have you done anything with that Debbie girl?
(pause)
Answer me!

LUCY DEVILLE
No, everything is on hold.

BETH DEVILLE
I have a deathbed request.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, you’re not going to…

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting)
Of course I am Lucy. Look at me. It’s literally a matter of hours.

LUCY DEVILLE
(visibly shaken cries)
Mommy!

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting)
We don’t have time for mommy right now. You promise me you will stop this plan of getting back with Michael. It’s all over. This is not what God wants for you. It’s not what I want for you.

LUCY DEVILLE
(crying)
Mom, don’t die.

BETH DEVILLE
I’m all tumors, darling – for quite some time now.
(LUCY hugs her mother and cries)
You promise mommy now darling.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, mommy. I promise.

BETH DEVILLE
You mustn’t lie to me. I’m dying.

LUCY DEVILLE
(screams)
I promise!
(crying)

BETH DEVILLE
That’s my good girl. Do you remember all that happened last autumn?

LUCY DEVILLE
(gets up and looks at her mother)
How could I ever forget?

ACT III. SCENE 2. INT. LUCY’S PARENTS HOME – LIVING ROOM – EARLY AFTERNOON. FLASHBACK – FIVE MONTHS EARLIER
Stage goes black just before scene. LUCY’S home five months earlier. LUCY is laying on the sofa. DAN is at the table working on his laptop. LUCY’S younger cousin, CECELIA, is visiting for Thanksgiving week. CECELIA is doing a puzzle on the coffee table while she is seated on the floor.

BETH DEVILLE
Perhaps we should go for a walk before dinner. It’s a beautiful day.

LUCY DEVILLE
Nah, don’t feel like it.

BETH DEVILLE
C’mon, it’ll be fun.

LUCY DEVILLE
Nope. I really don’t feel like it.

BETH DEVILLE
I seriously don’t understand that. Look, your cousin Cecelia is only here for another day. Let’s do something on this gorgeous day. Please.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m not feeling up to it.

BETH DEVILLE
(to CECELIA)
Well, I really don’t understand. Why wouldn’t she want to go for a walk on a day like today.
(pause)
Why do you think she wouldn’t want to go for a walk?

CECELIA DEVILLE
(looks directly at BETH)
Because she’s pregnant.

BETH DEVILLE
What?

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom.

BETH DEVILLE
What are you talking about?
(DAN stops typing and looks up from his laptop)

CECELIA DEVILLE
I thought you knew. I could tell when I saw her.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom.
(BETH is shaking with rage but still silent)

CECELIA DEVILLE
(realizing, to LUCY)
I’m so sorry.
(CECELIA exits stage right)

LUCY DEVILLE
(nods to CECELIA)
Mom, I was going to tell you when Cecelia went home.

BETH DEVILLE
Oh, dear God, help me. Oh God, help me. Oh, I beg of you , help me.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, listen. I love Michael. We are going to have the baby. It’s okay.

BETH DEVILLE
What! After all your hard work, you just get pregnant. This will not do. Do you understand me!

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, it will be okay.

BETH DEVILLE
No, Lucy. Nothing will ever be okay if you have this child.

LUCY DEVILLE
What are you talking about, mom?

BETH DEVILLE
You are my shining star. Don’t you realize what has happened? My life, my reputation, everything I’ve worked for is ruined. How could you do this to me?

LUCY DEVILLE
I didn’t do this to you. I’m still a good girl, mommy. Please don’t hate me. I can’t stand it when you hate me.

BETH DEVILLE
(cold)
Fix it then. Make me proud again.

LUCY DEVILLE
What d’ya mean?

BETH DEVILLE
You listen to me, you whore. Fix this or you will go to hell ‘cus I’ll put you there myself.
(DAN looks as if he wants to talk but doesn’t)

LUCY DEVILLE
(crying)
I can’t fix this.

BETH DEVILLE
So, you are moving out then. Getting married at such a young age, are we? You have no idea what life is all about. All that promise just fucked it all away.

LUCY DEVILLE
(composing herself)
Mom, I’m not moving out. I’m still going to go to school. I don’t know anything beyond that. I will make you proud. I’ll be a great mother and I will still accomplish all my goals and…

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting)
Are you fucking kidding me? Get out of my house!

DAN DEVILLE
(to BETH)
Stop it.

BETH DEVILLE
(to DAN)
Dan, get the fuck out of here right now. You have no idea how determined I am.
(DAN exits stage right. To LUCY)
My life is over if you don’t fix this. I will be forced to kill myself, ya know? The humiliation will be too much to bear. You don’t mind having that on your head for the rest of your life, do you? Of course not.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, please. Please mommy. I love you.

BETH DEVILLE
I’m going to have to make my own plans as you make yours. It’s up to you, my dear.

LUCY DEVILLE
(sobbing uncontrollably)
Mommy, I’ll fix everything. It will be okay. Please, mommy, please.
(moves toward BETH to put her arms around her)

BETH DEVILLE
(pulls away from Lucy’s embrace)
Good darlin’, you do the right thing now.

ACT III. SCENE 3. LUCY’S PARENT’S HOME –LIVING ROOM – LATE AFTERNOON. FLASHBACK – 4 MONTHS AND 2 WEEKS EARLIER
BETH is watching television. She turns off the television when she hears the front door open. LUCY enters the Living Room.

BETH DEVILLE
Lucy, darling, my angel, how have you been?

LUCY DEVILLE
(pained look on her face)
Okay.
(pause)
Mommy I…

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting and looking intently at LUCY’S stomach)
Lucy, what did you do?

LUCY DEVILLE
I, I took care of everything, momma.

BETH DEVILLE
(horrified)
You had an abortion?

LUCY DEVILLE
Y-yes. I thought you…

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting again)
You thought I what? You thought I wanted you to have an abortion.
(BETH smacks LUCY with all her might right across LUCY’S face)

LUCY DEVILLE
(shrieks)
Uhhh, momma please.

BETH DEVILLE
Don’t you dare call me momma, you baby killer.

LUCY DEVILLE
Momma, I did it for you so you didn’t have to kill yourself.

BETH DEVILLE
Kill myself, are you insane? I never said I’d kill myself.

LUCY DEVILLE
(faltering)
Yes you did.

BETH DEVILLE
Shut your mouth, little girl.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, I didn’t want to but I had no choice.

BETH DEVILLE
(shrills)
No choice! No choice! How about closing your fucking legs, ya dirty whore. How about that choice?
(LUCY starts sobbing uncontrollably)
What the hell is it about people today? Are our expectations so exceptionally low? I mean really we make bad decision after bad decision. Don’t you ever consider the consequences of your actions? God is watching you and you disappointed Him as well as me.

LUCY DEVILLE
(sobbing)
Mommy, what can I do? I don’t know what to do.

BETH DEVILLE
Again dear one you need to fix your mistakes.

LUCY DEVILLE
I beg you. Please forgive me.

BETH DEVILLE
(exasperated)
You don’t think I wanted to kill you when I got pregnant with you! I was only eighteen for crying out loud.

LUCY DEVILLE
What?

BETH DEVILLE
I thought about aborting you when I first found out I was pregnant. It would have been so easy. No one would have known, not even your father. I could have taken the easy way out too. But, I didn’t. I had a conscience and I knew that God was watching. You disappoint me so much.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mommy, please help me.

BETH DEVILLE
Well, if you do what God requires you to do, I will forgive you. I believe it is never too late for redemption.

LUCY DEVILLE
What do you think He wants me to do?

BETH DEVILLE
Have you been praying?

LUCY DEVILLE
Of course, momma, everyday.
(impatient)
What should I do?

BETH DEVILLE
Good. You must commit yourself to the only path that makes sense to appease God.

LUCY DEVILLE
Please tell me.

BETH DEVILLE
Well, you were clearly on God’s path when you were pregnant with Michael’s child. You must marry Michael and start a family with him.

LUCY DEVILLE
I don’t want to get married, mom.

BETH DEVILLE
If you want damnation, then do what you will.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, please stop that. I just don’t want to hurt anymore. Everything hurts.

BETH DEVILLE
You want to be all well?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, oh, yes.

BETH DEVILLE
Marry Michael and have a family with him and all the pain goes away.

LUCY DEVILLE
Will you love me then?

BETH DEVILLE
I love you now.

LUCY DEVILLE
You do?

BETH DEVILLE
Lucy, don’t be childish. Make this happen no matter what.

LUCY DEVILLE
No matter what?

BETH DEVILLE
The ends justify the means.

LUCY DEVILLE
(focused)
No matter what to stop the pain and save my soul.
(BETH grabs LUCY in her arms and holds her tight)
I love you, mom.

BETH DEVILLE
Mmmmmm, good girl.

ACT III. SCENE 4. INT. LUCY’S FAMILY’S HOME – LIVING ROOM – LATE EVENING. PRESENT DAY.
BETH is set up on the sofa with an IV and is reclined with her head propped up with a few pillows. LUCY is sitting next to her with her head hung low.

BETH DEVILLE
(dying)
You were right and I was wrong.

LUCY DEVILLE
(confused)
‘Bout what?

BETH DEVILLE
The abortion.
(pause)
I was wrong to have had you.
(long pause, LUCY is devastated)
I never deserved you.
(LUCY is confused)
Do good, Lucy. I’m sorry more than you’ll ever know that I couldn’t do good. You are better and stronger than me. You always were. Tell your father I love him.
(BETH dying)

LUCY DEVILLE
(crying)
I love you, mom. It’s okay now. The pain is almost gone and I will do good. I promise.
(BETH dies)

ACT III. SCENE 5. INT. LUCY’S PARENTS HOME – LIVING ROOM – EARLY EVENING.
LUCY and DAN are sitting on the sofa watching a show on the atom and it’s inner workings. They are both in black outfits. The show can be heard by the audience at the stage where it explains the unpredictability principle of the atom. LUCY speaks after the principle is explained on the television.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hey, dad.

DAN DEVILLE
(uses the remote to lower the television’s volume)
Yeah, what’s up?

LUCY DEVILLE
I love you, dad.

DAN DEVILLE
I love you too, Luce.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom told me to tell you that she loved you just before she died.

DAN DEVILLE
(starts sobbing)
Oh, I miss her.

LUCY DEVILLE
(trying to comfort him, she puts her arm around him)
Me too, dad. Me too.

DAN DEVILLE
Oh, Lucy I wish you had known your mom when she was your age. You remind me of her so much.

LUCY DEVILLE
(smiles)
Yeah.

DAN DEVILLE
Beth was something else, vivacious, full of life. The happiest time in her life was when she was pregnant with you.

LUCY DEVILLE
Really.

DAN DEVILLE
Yeah, really.

LUCY DEVILLE
I just can’t believe that.

DAN DEVILLE
Oh, she would talk to her belly all day long. I never saw a woman so in love with her unborn child.

LUCY DEVILLE
(starts sobbing)
I never once felt like she loved me.

DAN DEVILLE
Oh, Lucy she changed after she had you. Well, you know that she had to get a hysterectomy after you were born. She was never the same after that but she still loved you very much.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’ve, I always felt like I was her biggest disappointment in life.

DAN DEVILLE
Oh, Lucy, she loved you with all her heart. She would talk about you incessantly and she always was so proud of her little Lucy. She would go on and on about all your accomplishments. So much so she would actually make people sick. Well, not actually but you know what I mean.

LUCY DEVILLE
Thanks, dad. That does help a bit. Dad, I’ve done some horrible things. I don’t even know how to tell you this.

DAN DEVILLE
Just out with it.

LUCY DEVILLE
You’re all I have left and I don’t want you to hate me.

DAN DEVILLE
I’ll never hate you. Never!

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, you know after Michael and I broke up I was pretty much a mess, right?

DAN DEVILLE
Yeah, I remember. Mom said you two were most likely getting back together. Is that not true?

LUCY DEVILLE
I was trying to make that happen but it’s not going to?

DAN DEVILLE
Oh, I’m sorry, but there are plenty of guys out there. It’s not the end of the world.

LUCY DEVILLE
Michael and I broke up because I had an abortion to make mom happy. Needless to say he left me when I couldn’t get over my guilt.

DAN DEVILLE
Wait a minute mom wanted you to get an abortion. She told me that you miscarried.

LUCY DEVILLE
Look dad, I don’t want you to feel badly about mom. I had the abortion. It was my decision and I will regret it forever. I’ve been trying to clean away that sin but in the process have only been committing new ones.

DAN DEVILLE
I really don’t understand.

LUCY DEVILLE
Dad, I know. Everything is really confusing. Do you want me to fill you in on everything that’s gone on in the last year?

DAN DEVILLE
Yes, I would really like to know the truth.

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s not pretty.

DAN DEVILLE
I know. The truth can be very ugly sometimes.
(stage goes black)

ACT III. SCENE 6. INT. LUCY’S PARENT’S HOME – LIVING ROOM – EARLY AFTERNOON.
PROFESSOR BLENK has stopped by LUCY’S home for a visit. LUCY and PROFESSOR BLENK are sitting on the sofa.

PROFESSOR BLENK
I’ve been worried about you especially your state of mind.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mmmmm. My state of mind is not so hot right now.

PROFESSOR BLENK
I’m wondering, what have you been thinking?

LUCY DEVILLE
I’ve been thinking about death. I…

PROFESSOR BLENK
(interrupting)
Who’s death?

LUCY DEVILLE
(laughs)
Well, my mom’s in particular and death in general. Oh! I get it. I suppose that’s why the visit. I’m suicidal, right?

PROFESSOR BLENK
Well, your mother is, I mean was, a big presence in your life.

LUCY DEVILLE
Enormous – the biggest, bigger than Jesus and all those other folks we talk about in class.

PROFESSOR BLENK
So, you understand my concern.

LUCY DEVILLE
No, I actually don’t understand your concern at all.

PROFESSOR BLENK
What?

LUCY DEVILLE
I am truly vile. I am a person without merit, reason, morality
(pause)
hope. I mean why should anyone be concerned for me? Especially you, I’ve treated you like a malignancy.
(pause)
I cannot tell you how truly sorry I am that I caused you such harm by spreading those lies about you and getting you in trouble with the administration.

PROFESSOR BLENK
I know. I know you’re sorry. Thank you for straightening the record on that score.

LUCY DEVILLE
Coming clean to the administration doesn’t seem like enough to make amends. The games I was playing were so dangerous to people.

PROFESSOR BLENK
You did things like this to other people?
(LUCY nods in agreement. Pause)
Lucy, no matter what you’ve done, you deserve compassion at a time like this.

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s funny. Actually, I don’t need compassion since I feel so relieved in a lot of ways.

PROFESSOR BLENK
What do you mean relieved?

LUCY DEVILLE
The wicked old witch is dead at last.
(notices PROFESSOR BLENK’S expression of horror)
You don’t know the burden of living with a sick twisted person.
(pause)
I’m not the person I thought I was. I’m not as my mother made me to be. I don’t have the burden of fixing imaginary violations against God. I can actually live in reality for a change.

PROFESSOR BLENK
You’re shocking me.

LUCY DEVILLE
I do that a lot. Don’t I?

PROFESSOR BLENK
(laughs)
Yes, you do.

LUCY DEVILLE
Anyway, I ‘m really sad about my mom. Sad, that we never had a good relationship,
(starts crying)
sad that my mother was insane, sad that I let my mother hijack my life and make me a pawn. I didn’t have to distort things to make sense of the world like my mom did.
(pauses, crying)
I knew I was doin’ wrong. I’ll be plagued by what I did to you and others forever; I can never forget the horrible things I’m capable of doing. I don’t ever want to do them again. Ever!

PROFESSOR BLENK
It’s not too late Lucy you can make things better for yourself by taking responsibility for your actions. If anyone has the strength of will to change things, it’s you. Don’t give up.

LUCY DEVILLE
(controlling herself)
Yes, I have much to atone for. It’s all too overwhelming sometimes yet even still… (pauses) Remember the “Candide” assignment?

PROFESSOR BLENK
(nods in agreement)
Yes, of course.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, I’ll be honest. I didn’t read the whole book. I just couldn’t take it after awhile what with all of his misfortunes. I mean come on already.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(laughs)
Yes, he did have a bad lot. Didn’t he?

LUCY DEVILLE
Incredibly bad. Well, anyway there’s a part of the book when an old woman is relaying her story to Candide and his girlfriend. The old woman talks about how at a young age she was kidnapped, tortured, raped and enslaved. Her whole life was a misery. Remember that part?

PROFESSOR BLENK
Yes, I know precisely the passage that you’re referencing.

LUCY DEVILLE
Anyway, they wondered at how she was able to endure it all. She replied, and I remember the line verbatim since it really penetrated my psyche, “I thought of killing myself a thousand times over but could not bring myself to do it for I loved life far too much.” At the time, I didn’t know why that had an impact on me but now it sort of makes sense.

PROFESSOR BLENK
How do you mean?

LUCY DEVILLE
(pausing, looking around)
I am set adrift from everything that I used to ardently believe in. My purpose in life, my relationships with my mom, Michael and everyone, my religion, all of it, it’s just a big pile of crap now, nothing makes sense yet I feel about life the same way that old woman feels about it. Whad’a ya gonna do? I guess I’ll be stickin’ around for a while longer so you don’t have to worry about me offing myself.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(laughs then realizing)
Do you mean since your mother’s death you’ve given up on your faith as well?

LUCY DEVILLE
(shrugs and winces)
No, not absolutely. I just don’t believe in it the same way that I did. I have to get re-acquainted with my faith on unbiased terms. I want to know the truth of it. It’s gonna take a while. As disillusioned as I am, I still don’t fathom YOUR beliefs. Perhaps, I never will.

PROFESSOR BLENK
You’ve changed so much.

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s been coming on even before my mom died.
(pausing)
Ya know, I watched a show on the atom the other night with my dad and it occurred to me that none of us really knows anything. These scientists that are experts on sub-atomic particles only know so much. It makes the world a very scary place to not know anything. But I think I’d rather live in a world where I know nothing then in the world I just left where I knew everything. People who know everything do a lot of evil stuff.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Like Hitler.

LUCY DEVILLE
(laughs)
Yeah,
(winces)
Me, my mom, Hitler..

PROFESSOR BLENK
Hmmm. I think you’re an interesting person, Lucy. Anytime you need to talk, I’m available.(pause) It’s been an experience having you as a student.

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s been an experience having you for a professor.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(rising to leave)
Can I ask you something?

LUCY DEVILLE
(wiping at her eyes)
Yes, anything?

PROFESSOR BLENK
Do you really still believe in God?

LUCY DEVILLE
Unequivocally, yes.

PROFESSOR BLENK
I don’t mean to disturb you by this question, but why?

LUCY DEVILLE
I just do.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(he puts his hand on LUCY’S shoulder and is thoughtful)
Well, perhaps you’ve had way too much reality for the time being. I’m sure we’ll debate it more in class.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, I’m sure we will. Ya know, there are some things you like to believe are true that you can’t seem to explain.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(incredulous)
Oh, really, what for instance.

LUCY DEVILLE
At times in class, it can be uncomfortable to listen to the lack of response to your jokes yet you keep telling them because you believe you are funny without any proof.
(Lucy and Professor Blenk walk toward the door.)

PROFESSOR BLENK
(laughs heartily)
You got me there.
(pauses)
I’ve always thought I was hysterical.

LUCY DEVILLE
(opening the door)
Now that’s funny.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(walking out and turns around in the doorway)
You’re going to be alright.

LUCY DEVILLE
I think so.

PROFESSOR BLENK
No, you will be. Bye.

LUCY DEVILLE
Thanks, bye.
(PROFESSOR BLENK turns around and walks away. LUCY closes the door.)

ACT III. SCENE 7. INT. LUCY’S FAMILY HOME – LIVING ROOM – AFTERNOON.
LUCY, PAUL, DAN are sitting on a sofa listening to the POLICE OFFICER while the DETECTIVE is a the other end of the room talking on his cell phone

LUCY DEVILLE
(to PAUL and DAN)
Well, I’ll throwing myself on the mercy of the state.

POLICE OFFICER
(interrupting)
Well, I’m not sure what they are gonna charge you with. The detective is speaking with the District Attorney right now about an arrest warrant.

PAUL FLETCHER
Arrest warrant? What the..She doesn’t deserve to get arrested. She’s confessing…she’s

LUCY DEVILLE
(interrupting. She puts his hand on his.)
Paul, really.

DETECTIVE
(hangs up his cell phone and approaches the group. To POLICE OFFICER)
Well, that’s it. D.A. says no go.
(to DAN)
Mr. Deville, we are not going to arrest your daughter. The D.A. will not be pressing charges. Basically, she’s off the hook.

DAN
Oh, thank goodness.

LUCY DEVILLE
What do you mean? You aren’t going to arrest me?

DETECTIVE
Well, what you did was sick in my book but attempted stuff like this never holds. Michael and Sydney don’t want to press charges against you and your really crazy friend,
(looks at his notepad)
Debbie and that girl Racine are all lawyered up. The DA says it’s loser. Don’t want to waste taxpayers money on a trial when the outcome will most likely be not guilty. Bottom line, nobody on a jury is gonna think you girls would do evil shit like this.

LUCY DEVILLE
That’s astonishing. I feel like I should be in jail for what I did and considered planning to do.

POLICE OFFICER
I agree with you. You’re a pig.

PAUL FLETCHER
Takes one to no one.

POLICE OFFICER
(shakes his head)
You should go find yourself a nice girl. She’s bad news my friend.

DAN
(gets up off the couch. Interrupting before PAUL says anything)
Well, thank you so much officers.
(escorting them to the door)
Let me show you out.

PAUL FLETCHER
I can’t believe that guy.

LUCY
Paul, he’s right.

PAUL FLETCHER
No he isn’t.

LUCY DEVILLE
Paul, did you hear what I said I’ve done? How can you even look at me?

PAUL FLETCHER
It’s so easy to look at you.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m so sorry about using you. I am so ashamed of myself.

PAUL FLETCHER
(grabs her face and kisses her)
But, you do love me don’t you?

LUCY DEVILLE
(pulls away)
Paul, you are so good. I can’t believe you still want to be with me.

PAUL FLETCHER
Lucy, I love you.

LUCY DEVILLE
I know. You were the best thing in this whole mess. But, I need to be on my own for a while. I’m so confused about so many things. I’m not really able to be in a relationship with anyone.

PAUL FLETCHER
No. No. What are you saying? You want to break up.

LUCY DEVILLE
Listen, it’s really the only course. You don’t see me for what I truly am. I don’t want to fool myself anymore. I want to realize exactly the person that I am. With you around blowing sunshine up my ass all the time, I would totally lose myself in your feelings for me. I just can’t go that course right now.

PAUL FLETCHER
But down the road..

LUCY DEVILLE
You deserve someone better than me.

PAUL FLETCHER
But I want you.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m moving away.

PAUL FLETCHER
What? No!

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s really the only way.

PAUL FLETCHER
I guess you don’t love me.

LUCY DEVILLE
I think I do love you that is why I’m giving you up. So, you don’t have to live a life like my father has had to live.

PAUL FLETCHER
You are not your mother.

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh, but I could be, so easily.

PAUL FLETCHER
I know that look on your face. Okay, I’m gone.
(LUCY walks him to the door)

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m so sorry.
(PAUL leaves stage right)

ACT III SCENE 8. EXT. UNIVERSITY, OUTSIDE GROUNDS – MORNING
LUCY and MICHAEL are by a group of tables talking. MICHAEL is listening intently.

LUCY DEVILLE
(continuing)
Anyway, thanks for not pressing charges against me.

MICHAEL RILEY
Well, you stepped up and did the right thing. Thanks for that at least.

LUCY DEVILLE
As lame as it is, it was the very least I could do. I’m so done with all of this. I understand if you want revenge. Debbie and Racine are comin’ after me for real now and I completely deserve it.

MICHAEL RILEY
Yeah, that Debbie is way scarier then you.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, you must never let your guard down with her. She wants to destroy Sydney.

MICHAEL RILEY
Oh, I’m on top of it. Did you know that Sydney and Debbie had been best friends since the sixth grade?

LUCY DEVILLE
She has hated her for so long and pretended to love her that whole time. Frightening.

MICHAEL RILEY
You’re not much better.

LUCY DEVILLE
You’re right. I want you to know that I don’t ever expect you to forgive me. I don’t know if you should forgive someone that tried to hurt you so much. I can, however, assure you that I will never forget how horribly I’ve behaved and that the memory of torturing you and Sydney will be the driving force in my path to
(reflecting)
redemption. I’ve no idea how to make amends for it, but I will. That’s the plan anyway. You know me I’m long on plans and strong on will.

MICHAEL RILEY
Understand this, I will never trust you again as long as I live.

LUCY DEVILLE
I know. You shouldn’t.
(pauses)
I’m gonna make it easier on all of us.
(shows MICHAEL a piece of paper)
See, I’m transferring to the University of Toronto in the Fall. I figure I need to mellow out. Canadians seem really relaxed. I don’t know.
(upon viewing MICHAELS’ suspicious face)
I’m going to be in another country for cryin’ out loud. So, don’t worry about me anymore. You’re gonna have a lot more to worry about in few more months anyway.
(thoughtful)
I really do hope everything goes well there.

MICHAEL RILEY
(nods)
Thanks. What about Paul, you two broke up?

LUCY DEVILLE
He is so much better off.

MICHAEL RILEY
I don’t think he sees it that way.

LUCY DEVILLE
I can’t be in a relationship with anyone right now. I’m a freakin’ mess.

MICHAEL RILEY
(laughs)
I can understand that.
(pauses)
Well, good luck to you with whatever you‘re doing.
(thoughtful)
Despite everything, I was sorry to hear about your mom.

LUCY DEVILLE
(picking up her backpack to leave)
Yeah, thanks.
(pausing)
Bye.

MICHAEL RILEY
(confused)
Bye.

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh, can you please let Sydney know all this too? I don’t want to upset her anymore in her condition.

MICHAEL RILEY
Yeah, sure.

LUCY DEVILLE
(hesitant)
I just want you to know that I will always regret that things didn’t work out differently between us. I really wanted to have our baby
(visibly upset)
and be with you, married or not for however long it lasted. That will stay with me forever too.

MICHAEL RILEY
(softening)
Lucy, that abortion changed you.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yep. My mother’s death changed me too.
(laughs)
I’m nowhere near the person I used to be when we were together.

MICHAEL RILEY
Well, maybe that can still be a good thing.

LUCY DEVILLE
(laughs)
Yeah.
(wipes her eyes)
See ya. Well, maybe not.

MICHAEL RILEY
Yeah. Good luck.

LUCY DEVILLE
You too.
(MICHAEL exits stage right and LUCY heads toward the center front of the stage facing the audience. RACINE and CAROLE are walking past her from stage left toward stage right. RACINE and LUCY see each other at the same time)

LUCY DEVILLE
Hey, I know you two don’t want to talk to me but do me a favor and stay away from Debbie. She is really dangerous.

RACINE WINTERS
You want to know something funny?

LUCY DEVILLE
What?

RACINE WINTERS
So are you.

LUCY DEVILLE
Huh?

RAC INE WINTERS
Do you know what you’ve done? I’m a total pariah. The other girls can recover from this. They were only flunkies, no offense Carole, but I’m seen as ruthless, cunning, completely untrustworthy. The police at my doorstep, can you imagine, a real loser? My mother is so pissed at me for trusting you.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m sorry that I betrayed your confidence but we were doing really bad things and it needed to stop.

RACINE WINTERS
I think you’ve confused me for someone that gives a damn.

LUCY DEVILLE
Listen, what we were doing was hurtful and mean. We didn’t kill anyone and I guess with good lawyers we don’t have to go to jail, but we were causing much damage. Once you allow yourself to cause that much damage to other human beings you open up the possibility of committing almost anything to get what you want. You may think you have your limits but they can diminish in an instant if you desire something bad enough.

RACINE WINTERS
Are you finished with your preaching?

LUCY DEVILLE
I just…

RACINE WINTERS
What? Are you worried about revenge?

LUCY DEVILLE
No. Do what you will. I just wanted to help you.

RACINE WINTERS
Don’t worry yourself about me. I don’t need your help.
(pause)
Oh, and, I’m not interested in revenge on you. You pretty much destroyed yourself. You’ve got big problems with Debbie, too. She is on the warpath.

LUCY DEVILLE:
Whatever she gives me I deserve. I’m taking responsibility for my actions. The semester’s almost over anyway and then I’ll be long gone.

CAROLE KRACO
(to Lucy)
Well, I for one don’t harbor any ill will against you. I just think you need medication.

LUCY DEVILLE
(to Carole, laughs)
I probably should consider that.

CAROLE KRACO
(to Lucy)
I’m sorry about your mom.

LUCY DEVILLE
(to Carole)
Thank you.

RACINE WINTERS
Yeah, well, since your okay with the wrath of Debbie, she has told everyone about you and Michael and the abortion and your mother.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hmmm.

RACINE WINTERS
(disappointed)
You’re not upset?

LUCY DEVILLE
The funny part is that it doesn’t hurt anymore.

RACINE WINTERS
What?

LUCY DEVILLE
My head, my body – I feel well for the first time in a long time.

RACINE WINTERS
(frustrated)
I really don’t care and I really don’t want to be seen with you either.

LUCY DEVILLE
I know. Well good luck, to both of you.
(Carole nods)

RACINE WINTERS
Yep, good luck in Siberia or wherever you’re going.
(CAROLE and RACINE exit stage left.)

LUCY DEVILLE
(Phone rings. LUCY answers the phone. LUCY begins to walk stage right)
Hey dad!
(pause)
What are you up to?
(pause)
This Sunday, church and brunch? Completely unadulterated
(considers)
I’m sorry.
(excited)
Yes, yes, yes, I would really enjoy that. Thanks, dad. I love you.
(conversing unintelligibly and exits stage left)

THE END

Act One     Act Two

12 thoughts on “Three Heel Clicks: Act Three, a play in three acts

  1. Pingback: Three Heel Clicks: Act Two, a play in three acts | unga bunga girl

  2. Pingback: Three Heel Clicks: Act One, a play in three acts | unga bunga girl

  3. Ah, you leave us with a happy ending. well sort of. not perhaps a ‘they all lived happily ever after’ or a ‘they rode off into the sunset together’ but I think happy, certainly satisfying.

    I grew to quite like Lucy, fucked-up by her parents as she was.

    And I think Professor Blenk fancies her like mad!! Perhaps the start point of another story 🙂

    Well done Cathy – terrific play.

    David

    • David,

      I hadn’t thought about it but I guess you’re right it ends positively where in the beginning it was so negative. I’m glad you liked Lucy. I liked her too. I wanted her to be worthy of liking. That’s interesting about the professor. I wasn’t even considering that angle. Interesting idea. Thanks. That means a lot to me.

      Cathy

  4. lovely. 🙂
    i like it.

    but i actually expected it to get a lot worse…
    this seems almost like a happy ending

    i particularly like the last conversation between Blenk and Lucy. 🙂
    Sharp!

    Is Blenk like Blank? 😀

    • I’m glad you liked it. I’ve always been an optimist and I really wanted this story to end on the highest note possible. An evil person that tries to make amends – seems uplifting to me and optimistic for sure. I think I know why you like that conversation.

      Yes, Blenk like Blank. All the people’s names were thought out. Like Lucy’s name was inspired by the combination of Lucille Ball (I love Lucy) and Cruella Deville (101 Dalmatians) her mother’s name and character, Beth, was inspired by Shakespeare’s MacBeth…..

  5. This has the makings for a great full legnth movie. The story packed one heck of a punch in a sobering, scary way. I liked how some mysteries didnt get explained till the end, LIke why she wanted her ex back so badly.

    WIll you be doing any more of these? These are excellent!

    • I actually wrote the first few scenes several years ago and there it sat for a long time. Then, last year I wrote the parts of the third act and then some scenes in the second act and basically wrote it from the inside out. Years ago I was trying to write everything linearly and that style just didn’t work for me. So, the structure of the story really was by accident and I thought it made it more dramatic as well. Thank you so much. I have another script, I’ve been working on but I don’t have enough of the story fleshed out yet but when I do I’ll post it. I have a few others too.

Leave a Reply

