Three Heel Clicks: Act Two, a play in three acts

ACT I     ACT III

ACT II. SCENE 1. INT. UNIVERSITY, CLASSROOM, THEOLOGY – AFTERNOON.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Okay, let’s move on. So, what are your thoughts of the passages on the Immaculate Conception. Ah let’s start with Will.

WILL COURTLAND
Well I’ve always thought this was a crock.

PROFESSOR BLENK
How so?

WILL COURTLAND
Well come on. I think the implication is that sex is evil. Jesus couldn’t have come from sex but rather he had to have been implanted from the heavens. I have a problem with that implication.

PROFESSOR BLENK
You want to get right into the sex part of it then, huh Will?
(one student laughs, LUCY looks pensive)
Lucy, what are you thinking?

LUCY DEVILLE
Well I didn’t think that the Immaculate Conception would ever spawn a discussion on the virtues of sex.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Well, since were on the subject do you have anything to contribute?

LUCY DEVILLE
(thoughtful)
Well I actually agree with Will. I’ve recently taken up fornication again. I really enjoy it, ya know, coming.
(All the students looked shocked)
So, I wonder to myself if I derive so much pleasure from sex how come it is seen as immoral. I mean it’s viewed as immoral if you are not trying to have a kid but just trying to have an orgasm.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(pauses)
Ummm. Well, I’ve felt that secular types of people, which is these days quite a large number of people, don’t view sex as immoral.

LUCY DEVILLE
So is it your opinion that stringent views on sexual morality is a shortcoming of people of faith.

PROFESSOR BLENK
I didn’t mean to suggest that. I think sexual mores is definitely subjective, religious beliefs aside, but there are a few cases where stringent mores exist beyond faith, such as pedophilia or incest. Those cases are almost universally agreed upon.

PAUL FLETCHER
(looking at LUCY)
Wow!
(pause)
I feel that sex between two people who love each other can’t be immoral because it is an expression of love.
(he smiles at LUCY and she smiles awkwardly at him)

PROFESSOR BLENK
How the heck did we get so far off topic?

LUCY DEVILLE
It has been made clear to me from persons of faith that having sex for pleasure is a bad decision since it could result in pregnancy or disease. So having sex outside of marriage becomes a morality issue. Basically, you are the product of your decisions. If you make bad or flawed ones then you become bad or on the flip side good if you make good decisions. Although, you can always redeem yourself from your bad decisions by making good decisions.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Now we are definitely off the rails.

LUCY DEVILLE
(sighs)
Jesus is the son of God therefore he would have had to be implanted from the heavens, since that is where God resides. I don’t think the story of the Immaculate Conception has anything to do with sex, obviously since none took place but it is rather just the story of the divine nature of Jesus.

WILL COURTLAND
But the implication is that sex cannot be divine.

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh yes it can.
(laughs from the students and PROFESSOR BLENK)

PROFESSOR BLENK
I think we should end the discussion here?
(students start putting away their book and notepads. PAUL and LUCY are standing by their desks)
Don’t forget the assignment due next week. Don’t ask me. Refer to the syllabus.
(PAUL approaches LUCY)
The syllabus is this classes bible and shall be followed. So let it be written so let it be done. For Monday’s class we will be discussing Voltaire’s Candide. Please make sure you have read it.

PAUL FLETCHER
(to LUCY)
Hey, umm. We need to go to your place right now.

LUCY DEVILLE
What?
(PAUL grabs her waist and looks her directly in the eyes)

PAUL FLETCHER
That was so hot. You are so hot.

LUCY DEVILLE
(embarrassed turns away and PAUL lets go of her)
Well I feel I rarely participate in the class discussions, so I …

PAUL FLETCHER
(laughs interrupting)
Oh, is that what that was all about.
(pauses)
I want you so much.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well let’s do something about that, then.
(PROFESSOR BLENK approaches PAUL and LUCY)

PROFESSOR BLENK
Lucy, I’d like to talk to you in private after my next class if that is okay with you?

LUCY DEVILLE
Sure, I can come back here in an hour
(looks at PAUL and both smile)

PROFESSOR BLENK
Great, see ya then.
(PAUL and LUCY exit stage right, stage fades to black)

ACT II. SCENE 2. INT. UNIVERSITY, CLASSROOM – LATE AFTERNOON.
PROFESSOR BLENK is sitting at the back of the classroom looking at a book. LUCY appears in the hall just outside the doorway to the classroom. She peaks in and sees PROFESSOR BLENK and he sees her.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Hey there, Lucy.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hey, what’s up, professor?

PROFESSOR BLENK
(agitated)
Um, I don’t know how to really approach the subject, but I just felt I needed to talk to you.

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh, was it about today’s class discussion

PROFESSOR BLENK
Oh, no that was fine. I was really glad to see you participate for once.

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh, cool, so what is it?

PROFESSOR BLENK
I have been told some disturbing news, actually by the administration. Well, I was told there was an allegation of harassment against me.

LUCY DEVILLE
(looks uncomfortable)
Oh really.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Yes the student wishes to remain anonymous but I can’t help thinking that you lodged the complaint.

LUCY DEVILLE
Why would you think that?

PROFESSOR BLENK
I know how ardently you feel about your faith and I know this class is a disappointment to you since we are following some unconventional methods to understand the bible and the ideology behind the Christian religion.

LUCY DEVILLE
I don’t really know what to say to any of this.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Well, I have no proof that you made the allegation but if you did, please think about what you are doing to me.

LUCY DEVILLE
Do you ever think about what you are doing to me and other students of faith?

PROFESSOR BLENK
The only thing I do is scrutinize the origins and philosophy of Christianity. If what you believe cannot be held up to the slightest scrutiny without falling apart, why are you bothering to believe in it.

LUCY DEVILLE
(angrily)
You are really off the mark, professor. You couldn’t be more wrong about me and what I believe.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Regardless, I feel I’m on the right track. Just remember it is a sin to bear false witness against another.

LUCY DEVILLE
There are so many sins, professor.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Well, that’s true. I really said all I need or want to say on the subject. So, let’s just try to put this behind us, shall we?

LUCY DEVILLE
That’s fine with me regardless of what you think I’ve done to you.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Yes, well, I do hope you join in more in the class discussion in the future. You have a lot to contribute.

LUCY DEVILLE
We’ll see, won’t we?

PROFESSOR BLENK
Yes we will.
(stage goes black)

ACT II. SCENE 3. UNIVERSITY, MAIN BLDG – LATE AFTERNOON.
RACINE, SOPHIA and CAROLE are sitting at a table stage left. MICHAEL, SYDNEY and DEBBIE are seated at a table stage right. LUCY walks in from stage left. She looks angry. She walks briskly over to RACINE’S table.

LUCY DEVILLE
(loudly to RACINE)
I can’t believe you did that, you bitch!
(SYDNEY, MICHAEL, and DEBBIE are listening and watching)

RACINE WINTERS
What’s your problem?

LUCY DEVILLE
You don’t want me for an enemy I can assure you.

RACINE WINTERS
Well you better come back into the fold dear heart because you sure as hell won’t last for very much longer without me on your side.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, you can fuck yourself. I think you’re the only one who would be willing to get that close to you anyway, evil bitch.

RACINE WINTERS
(laughs)
You are delusional.

LUCY DEVILLE
Call off the dogs.

RACINE WINTERS
(angrily)
Fuck off!

LUCY DEVILLE
Look at me.
(RACINE looks into LUCY’S eyes)
I WILL make you sorry.

RACINE WINTERS
Oooooo, I’m shakin’. Run along little girl.
(LUCY turns around, facing the audience and walks to the front of the stage, breathing heavily trying to calm down. MICHAEL looks at SYDNEY and SYDNEY nods her head to indicate yes, DEBBIE is shaking her head to indicate no and MICHAEL gets up and approaches LUCY.)

LUCY DEVILLE
(looking up in the air)
Son of a…

MICHAEL RILEY
Lucy!

LUCY DEVILLE
(turns to face MICHAEL)
Hey, Michael.
(wipes a pretend tear from her eye)

MICHAEL RILEY
Are you okay?

LUCY DEVILLE
Of course, you know me. I’m not easily rattled.

MICHAEL RILEY
I heard the rumors though. I mean damn, what they are saying about you and your dad. It’s terrible.

LUCY DEVILLE
I know. It’s disgusting.

MICHAEL RILEY
I’m sorry.

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s my own fault for getting mixed up with that vicious bitch, Racine. I didn’t know what she was capable of.

MICHAEL RILEY
Do you want to join us?
(points in the direction of DEBBIE and SYDNEY)

LUCY DEVILLE
Thanks, I don’t think it is a good idea, though. How is everything going with you guys?

MICHAEL RILEY
(smiling)
Everything is going really well. I guess now that you are the new target of Racine she has forgotten about us.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, anything I can do to help.

MICHAEL RILEY
How are things with you and Paul?

LUCY DEVILLE
(smiles)
They are going well. I miss you, ya know. You were my best friend. I really miss you.

MICHAEL RILEY
I know I miss you too.

LUCY DEVILLE
Are you sure about Sydney? She’s the one for you, huh?

MICHAEL RILEY
Yes, I’m sure. I love her. Come and hang out with us. You would probably like her too.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, maybe next time I’ll join you guys. Just not today, I’m not feeling well.

MICHAEL RILEY
Migraine?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, really bad.
(coughs)

MICHAEL RILEY
How’s your mom doin’?

LUCY DEVILLE
Alright, not that great, probably better than me right now.

MICHAEL RILEY
(laughs)
Well, I hope she beats it.

LUCY DEVILLE
I don’t doubt that she will. She is very determined.

MICHAEL RILEY
Just like you.

LUCY DEVILLE
(winces)
Like me. I’ll see ya.

MICHAEL RILEY
Yeah see ya.

LUCY DEVILLE
(LUCY watches MICHAEL as he walks back to his table. She starts coughing. Her phone rings. She answers it.)
Hello.
(pause)
Yes it’s just a matter of time. I’m not concerned about that.
(pause)
That’s a brutal rumor. I think it was a good call, more effective.
(LUCY starts slowly walking toward stage right)
Yeah, I’ll be there. I gotta go home. I feel like crap.
(coughing)
Bye.
(LUCY exits stage right)

ACT II. SCENE 4. INT. RACINE WINTER’S PARENT’S HOME. EVENING.
LUCY is standing and conversing with RACINE, SOPHIA, CAROLE, DOREEN, and LORI who are sitting on the sofa. The doorbell rings. RACINE rises and exits stage right in a few moments RACINE and DEBBIE enter stage right. They sit on the sofa and join the others.

LUCY DEVILLE
Glad you could all make it, tonight. I really miss you guys.

LORI KENDALL
You aren’t mad at us, are you?

LUCY DEVILLE
No, of course not. You are doing what is necessary. I know that. Thanks for spreading horrible rumors about my love relationship with my dad.
(laughs)
It really does seem to be working. Incredible!

DEBBIE KLATCH
Well don’t get too overjoyed about being publicly humiliated.

LUCY DEVILLE
What do you mean?

DEBBIE KLATCH
Brace yourself. This is going to upset you.

LUCY DEVILLE
What? Just tell me. I can….

DEBBIE KLATCH
(interrupting)
Sydney’s pregnant. They are going to move up the wedding.
(pause)
Does this guy know about condoms or what?

LUCY DEVILLE
(absentmindedly)
He hated wearing them.
(pause)
What?

DEBBIE KLATCH
Yeah. That’s why they were eager to have you join them the other day. They want to get all buddy buddy with you before they break the news to you. Michael’s worried the news will start a new war with you.

LUCY DEVILLE
Everything was going so well too. I can’t believe this.
(working up the rage)
That son of a bitch, no good, four flushing sack a shit
(Screams in frustration)
I don’t care about this glitch, do you understand me. It changes nothing. I need to get Sydney out of the picture so Michael and I can start our life together.

RACINE WINTERS
I think it may be game over time, Lucy. I’m sorry.

LUCY DEVILLE
You bitch. I thought you were more determined about this then I was. So, now it gets a little complicated and you are ready to throw in the towel.

RACINE WINTERS
I just don’t think you are going to get him away from Sydney. She’s carrying his kid for fuck’s sake. That’s not something you are just going to be able to polish over. It’s too big a deal.

LUCY DEVILLE
I don’t care. Everything I am is on the line. I can’t fail.

RACINE WINTERS
Look, I’ll help you but I think it is a loser and I don’t like to lose.

LUCY DEVILLE
(screaming)
My future is not a loser.

RACINE WINTERS
Okay chill.

LUCY DEVILLE
(frantic)
Ah, my head is killing me.
(Retrieves her purse from the coffee table and pulls out a prescription bottle. LUCY takes a few pills and swallows with her glass of water also on the coffee table. Her head is lowered as she experiences migraine pain)

CAROLE KRACO
Lucy are you alright?

LUCY DEVILLE
Shut the fuck up!

RACINE WINTERS
Okay that’s enough. I think everyone should go home for tonight. We need to digest this new bit of news and figure out our next plan of attack
(aside)
if there is any.
(LUCY lifts her head and stares angrily at RACINE. Racine looks away from LUCY’S uncomfortable gaze)
I’ll be in touch with you all tomorrow.

SOPHIA KRONE
(SOPHIA approaches LUCY and places her hand on LUCY’S shoulder. LUCY shrugs it off in pain)
We stand firmly with you Lucy, we’re here to help. I hope you feel better.
(SOPHIA, LORI, CAROLE, and DOREEN exit stage right)

DEBBIE KLATCH
You know Racine this doesn’t have to be a loser.
(LUCY sits on the sofa in pain)

RACINE WINTERS
What are you gettin’ at?

DEBBIE KLATCH
I thought you were hard core. At least that’s the impression you give.

RACINE WINTERS
Don’t mess with me Debbie what are you proposing we do?

DEBBIE KLATCH
You know accidents can be staged that may or may not result in well you know.

RACINE WINTERS
I want to win but not by cheating.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Oh, so you draw the line at accidents.

RACINE WINTERS
I don’t believe in accidents. Don’t do anything stupid.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Fine. Good night.
(LUCY nods. DEBBIE exits stage right)

RACINE WINTERS
That chick is whacked. You want me to drive you home?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah.
(considering)
So, you have your limits?

RACINE WINTERS
Don’t you?

LUCY DEVILLE
Sometimes the ends justify the means.

RACINE WINTERS
Well not when it comes to murder.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah?

RACINE WINTERS
I don’t consider THAT murder, like you do?

LUCY DEVILLE
I wish I could see things that way.

RACINE WINTERS
Try or you’ll go nuts. Ready to go.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, I’m ready.

ACT II. SCENE 5. INT. UNIVERSITY, CLASSROOM, THEOLOGY – AFTERNOON.

PROFESSOR BLENK
What is the new testament’s stance on treating your enemies? Paul, what do you get from it.

PAUL FLETCHER
Well, we are to love our enemy. If our enemy slaps our cheek we are to hand them the other cheek to slap. I believe that’s how one can get as close to God as possible.
(LUCY sighs)

PROFESSOR BLENK
What do you think of that, Lucy?

LUCY DEVILLE
What’s the point of being close to God if you will never feel loved by Him.

PROFESSOR BLENK
What do you mean?

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, serve yourself on a plate to your enemies, right and you will move closer to God but what does that mean? Will you ever feel God’s love? I’ve never felt my creator’s love, not once. No matter how much I love Him.

PAUL FLETCHER
Lucy, how can you say that?

LUCY DEVILLE
Easy, it’s the truth. So, we destroy ourselves to get closer to love that we never can feel. That makes no sense to me.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Surprising to hear this from you.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, I will always love God but why doesn’t He love me. Why would He want to see me suffer in order to be close to Him? I seem to be stuck on that.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Well, the belief is that through suffering hardships and trials with enemies and surviving them by being God like you will then be transcended to the next level of spirituality, closer to God.

LUCY DEVILLE
That belief doesn’t explain the logic behind it. And I seem to need that.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Well, I can understand that completely. I need logic to make sense of it all too.

WILL COURTLAND
Well, I agree with Lucy for once. I don’t understand the need to suffer to make one closer to God.

PAUL FLETCHER
Well, I disagree. I believe that we need challenges to understand our emotions and transcend the physical. It’s how you deal with anguish – do you cry and get depressed and lose your mind or do you go on living a good life and keeping God in your heart. Deal with heartache the way God would deal with it, wisely, and you will find happiness, with God.

LUCY DEVILLE
It still makes no sense in the practical sense.

PAUL FLETCHER
You need to think in the spiritual sense.

LUCY DEVILLE
But pain and suffering makes me think practically.

WILL COURTLAND
Paul, do you consider what you said from a non-religious perspective? From my perspective, what you said is way out there and seems lala land to me.

PAUL FLETCHER
From the non-secular perspective, I’m scared for your soul. You will have to do this all over again. I for one don’t want to. I want to move forward.

WILL COURTLAND
Still you are talking nonsense to me.

PAUL FLETCHER
And you are talking nonsense to me.

PROFESSOR BLENK
There is no wrong or right in this case. You both see life through different lenses that is all. I don’t know. I know it’s a little early but I think this might be a good place to stop class today. There is a lot to consider when dealing with one’s enemies.
(looks pointedly at LUCY)
See you all next week.
(As the class disperses and PROFESSOR BLENK leaves the classroom, PAUL approaches LUCY who is still at her desk putting her things into her backpack)

PAUL FLETCHER
Lucy, are you alright?

LUCY DEVILLE
No, I’m not alright.

PAUL FLETCHER
Let me help you. I want to help, please.

LUCY DEVILLE
This is something that I have to do on my own.

PAUL FLETCHER
Does this have to do with Racine and those girls. Everyone is telling me to not date you because you had sex with your dad. Lucy, that’s not true is it?

LUCY DEVILLE
No, it’s a vicious rumor.

PAUL FLETCHER
Why, would they say that about you?

LUCY DEVILLE
Because I pissed Racine and the little witches off. I wouldn’t give them dirt on Michael and Sydney so they hate me now too.

PAUL FLETCHER
Why do they hate Michael and Sydney?

LUCY DEVILLE:
I really don’t know why. Racine works in mysterious ways.
(pause)
Are you gonna dump me now? You probably should, ya know?

PAUL FLETCHER
No, I could never leave you. Lucy, I love you.
(LUCY starts crying and PAUL hugs her)

LUCY DEVILLE
I really don’t deserve it.

PAUL FLETCHER
You do. You really do.

LUCY DEVILLE
No, I don’t. You really don’t know me at all.

PAUL FLETCHER
I know you are the most fascinating woman I’ve ever known.
(LUCY laughs)

LUCY DEVILLE
You are so good.

PAUL FLETCHER
You are too.
(LUCY starts to protest but PAUL kisses her and PROFESSOR BLENK walks in for the next class that is to start shortly).

PROFESSOR BLENK
Oh, I’m sorry to interrupt.

PAUL FLETCHER
Nah, that’s okay we were just leaving.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(getting his papers in order for next class, absentmindedly)
Good discussion today. Have a great weekend.

ACT II. SCENE 6. LUCY’S APT. – LATE AFTERNOON.
Knocking at the door LUCY moves to open the door.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hi mom.

BETH DEVILLE
Dearest how are you?

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m okay. How are you?

BETH DEVILLE
Things are not going well actually.

LUCY DEVILLE
(concerned)
What’s wrong?

BETH DEVILLE
Well they have to run a few more tests to determine where the cancer is hiding.

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh, I’m sorry.

BETH DEVILLE
It was expected on some level. You’re father is not doing so well but he puts on a good front. I was worried about you, Lucy.

LUCY DEVILLE
Why are you worried about me?

BETH DEVILLE
Because I think I may be forcing you to do things you don’t want to do.

LUCY DEVILLE
How do you mean?

BETH DEVILLE
Well, I don’t know how to tell you how much I love you but I do love you deeply. Actually, I’m so distracted because I really need to use the ladies room and freshen up a bit.
(knock at the door)
Well, I might be a while…
(BETH exits stage left. LUCY opens the front door. DEBBIE enters from stage right)

LUCY DEVILLE
Hey.

DEBBIE KLATCH
How is it goin’?

LUCY DEVILLE
What are you doing here? You’re gonna blow it.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Nah, I was really careful.

LUCY DEVILLE
I hope so.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Look, I can’t stay long though.

LUCY DEVILLE
What’s up?

DEBBIE KLATCH
Well. I know you are devastated by the Sydney and Michael news.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, well, devastated is a good word for it. Desperate over it too.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Well, Sydney is so fucking happy I could literally vomit all day long.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah.

DEBBIE KLATCH
I think we need to cause her some misery.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m not really into causing misery. I have a very specific goal in mind.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Yes, I know. Misery for me, Michael for you.

LUCY DEVILLE
What do you have in mind?

DEBBIE KLATCH
We cause Sydney to miscarriage.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, how do you propose we do that?

DEBBIE KLATCH
Like I told Racine, plan an accident. And, if there is a God, Sydney might also die during the miscarriage.
(BETH emerges from the bathroom stage left and can be seen to hide in the hallway so as to eavesdrop on DEBBIE and LUCY.)

LUCY DEVILLE
What?

DEBBIE KLATCH
Don’t tell me you haven’t thought how nice life would be without Sydney.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, actually no I haven’t thought about it like that.

DEBBIE KLATCH
I fantasize about it daily.

LUCY DEVILLE
What did she do to you?

DEBBIE KLATCH
She’s happy. I absolutely hate that.

LUCY DEVILLE
Ummm, that’s weird.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Keep your opinions to yourself. You had everything you wanted last year and you pissed it all away. Now you are doing really nasty things all in God’s name to get it back. How dare you judge me? I make more sense then you do. I straight up hate. I don’t care if you like me, love me, or hate me cuz I’m sure as hell gonna hate you no matter what.

LUCY DEVILLE
I don’t know. It would make everything easier, wouldn’t it? And it would all work out the way God wants and…
(BETH clears her throat and enters the room)

BETH DEVILLE
Oh, I’m sorry. I hope I’m not interrupting anything.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Actually I was just leaving.

BETH DEVILLE
Hello
(coughs)
I’m Beth, Lucy’s mom. I don’t believe I know you.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Yeah, I’m new. It’s nice to meet you. I’m Debbie.

BETH DEVILLE
(eyeing her suspiciously)
Nice to meet you too.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, well we will talk soon.
(LUCY and DEBBIE walk toward the door)

DEBBIE KLATCH
Yes,
(lowers voice)
we need to discuss operation extinguish in greater detail for sure.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’ll call you on the matter very soon.
(DEBBIE exits the apartment stage right. LUCY turns to face BETH)
Alright mom, what do you want to discuss?

BETH DEVILLE
Lucy, my dearest, please do not even consider what Debbie is offering. She is monstrous. The devil works through that one.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, please zip it.

BETH DEVILLE
I heard most of your conversation. How did you meet that girl?

LUCY DEVILLE
Through Racine.

BETH DEVILLE
Figures.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, I know I don’t measure up but I’m going to change everything. I’m going to make everything perfect. I promise. You will be so proud of me.

BETH DEVILLE
Not if you murder Sydney OR her baby.

LUCY DEVILLE
And you are so scrupulous is that right mommie dearest? Okay, so, torture, lies, deceit, abuse that’s all okay but murder isn’t? Unbelievable. What about the ends justify the means, huh? You remember that.

BETH DEVILLE
I don’t understand why you are so cruel toward your own mother. Everything I’ve done has been for you. Everything!

LUCY DEVILLE
You do way too much for me, mom. I only wanted one thing not everything.

BETH DEVILLE
(coughing)
Oh yes my precious and what was that?

LUCY DEVILLE:
Your love, unconditional.

BETH DEVILLE
But you’ve had that and everything else I can give.

LUCY DEVILLE
Never had it, never will.

BETH DEVILLE
I think you take delight in being oblivious to my affection for you. It is beyond all measure.

LUCY DEVILLE
I wish you affected me less with all your affection for me, then.

BETH DEVILLE
(coughing and confused)
Lucy, listen you cannot kill a… that is not the right path. I realize I’ve failed you but you cannot murder this girl and her baby. It is beyond wrong.

LUCY DEVILLE
(angry)
Why should Sydney get what I…

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting)
Lucy, this needs to end here
(coughs)
or your life as God’s child will end. There is no redemption for what you are planning with that girl, Debbie. For your salvation, please stop the course you are on. It leads nowhere good.

LUCY DEVILLE
(venomous)
Maybe I don’t want to be good anymore, mom. Not that I ever was.

BETH DEVILLE
(coughing fit, angry)
Stop this. You stop it right now, Lucy. Do you hear me?

LUCY DEVILLE
Or what you’ll send me to hell. The way you are hocking ‘em up, you’ll be in hell pretty soon. Save me a spot, won’t you mother. I’m going to church by myself. See ya.
(BETH is crying and coughing as LUCY walks to exit stage right)
When you are done spewing please kindly let yourself out.
(LUCY exits stage right)

ACT II. SCENE 7. INT. LUCY’S BEDROOM – 3:00 AM.
LUCY and PAUL are in bed together sleeping. There is a storm outside. The rain can be heard through the windows. There are intermittent bangs of thunder that seem to be coming from a distance. The stage is very dark and LUCY is trying to turn on the light next to her bed.

LUCY DEVILLE
(gasping)
Ahhh! God damn it.
(LUCY cannot turn on the light. The power has gone out due to the storm.)
Fuck it all to hell!
(She fumbles for a lighter and candle in the table next to her side of the bed. When she gets the lighter ignited and lights the candle, her face can be seen to be distorted with pain and horror. She slams her head against the wall in desperation and starts wailing in agony.)
My head, my head. Oh my God, my head. It hurts so much.
(LUCY’S wailing and moaning disturbs PAUL from his sleep.)

PAUL FLETCHER
(frustrated)
What the hell is going on?
(he looks at LUCY and gets concern)
Oh my God, what’s wrong?

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s my fucking head, ya fuck. Oh, please God make it stop hurting.
(crying)

PAUL FLETCHER
(tries to comfort LUCY)
Look, what can I do? Can I get you anything?

LUCY DEVILLE
For God’s sake just shut up.
(pauses)
Wait, get my migraine pills. They are in the bathroom in the medicine thingy.
(LUCY groans. PAUL leaves offstage left)

PAUL FLETCHER
(yelling from offstage)
Are these the ones in the pink prescription bottle.

LUCY DEVILLE
(shrieking)
Yessss!
(PAUL hurriedly returns from off stage left and hands a pill to LUCY.)

PAUL FLETCHER
Do you want some water?
(LUCY shakes her head in the negative, takes the pill, and swallows)

LUCY DEVILLE
Now, please leave. I need to be alone when I feel like this. Everything gets all wild in my head and it’s hard to be pleasant.

PAUL FLETCHER
Are you sure you don’t want me to stay…

LUCY DEVILLE
(interrupting)
NO! You won’t help me you will only hurt me so please go. Thank you.

PAUL FLETCHER
Okay, if it will help. I’ll talk to ya later.
(LUCY nods in agreement. PAUL dresses and leaves stage right. LUCY moans and cries and the phone rings. LUCY picks up the phone.)

LUCY DEVILLE
(softly)
Yes.
(listening)
Dad, what the hell are you doing calling me this early in the morning?
(listening)
What?
(pause)
Do you think it’s that bad?
(listening)
How much longer do you think she has to live?
(listening)
Of course, I’ll be home first thing in the morning. She’s my mother. Everything else can go to hell.
(LUCY presses the button to hang up and then presses it again and dials a number, pause)
Hey Debbie.
(pause)
I know what time it is. I’m sorry but we are going to have to put a hold on operation extinguish.
(pause)
My mother is gonna be dead in a day or two. I need to take care of that first.
(pause)
It might be a few weeks.
(pause)
Look, you are not to do anything until you hear from me. Do you got it or I will go to the police.
(pause)
Alright.
(pause)
Thanks, it’s all God’s will.

End of ACT TWO

ACT I     ACT III

14 thoughts on “Three Heel Clicks: Act Two, a play in three acts

  1. Pingback: Three Heel Clicks: Act One, a play in three acts | unga bunga girl

  2. Cathy,

    You have a devious, twisted mind!! That’s a compliment by the way.

    In the first act the characters seemed a bit like caricatures – now they have become very real – I have become interested in them.

    I was totally engrossed all the way through this and I really want to know what happens to these people.

    Terrific

    David

  3. This is really intense stuff. I wish you had the means to turn it into a film short. I roared with laughter when Lucy came out with the imaculate conception thoughts. Im looking forward to act three.

    Your intense posts have never let me down yet, though I cant be sure wether I ought to hate Lucy or love her to peices… maybe both at the same time?

    • Thanks. I’m glad to hear it was funny where I thought it was funny since it’s, as you say, an intense piece. I feel the same about your posts; they never let me down either.

      re: loving and hating Lucy – You are a clever maiden!

  4. Pingback: Three Heel Clicks: Act Three, a play in three acts | unga bunga girl

  5. Now i really am hooked. I like Lucy – like the way her mind works – oh dear what does that say about me – hehehe.
    “LUCY DEVILLE
    Easy, it’s the truth. So, we destroy ourselves to get closer to love that we never can feel. That makes no sense to me.”
    That was my pick out of a bunch of awesome lines though as the best.
    Yeah – I agree with Lucy !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

