Three Heel Clicks: Act One, a play in three acts

This is a rough draft of a play I’ve been writing. It’s pretty whacked but what else is new.

Act Two      Act Three

ACT I. SCENE 1. INT. LUCY DEVILLE’S STUDIO APT – EARLY MORNING.
LUCY is lying on the bed in her studio apartment. CAROLE is crouching like a gargoyle on the corner of the bed watching vigilantly as LUCY sleeps. While outside of LUCY DEVILLE’S STUDIO APT -SOPHIA is walking near the apartment entrance on the porch cement slab. She is wearing high heels and pacing. Her pacing can be heard from within the apartment. From inside LUCY’S apt., the alarm on the digital clock starts buzzing. CAROLE gets up off the bed in a methodical manner and turns off the alarm.

CAROLE KRACO
Another day.

LUCY DEVILLE
(yawns and stretches)
Another sin.

CAROLE KRACO
Racine wants to meet with us tomorrow.

LUCY DEVILLE
What does that bitch want?

CAROLE KRACO
She wants to help with Michael.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hmm. I might need her.
(Lucy rises from the bed and walks toward the bathroom stage right. LUCY screams)
I’m so mad. Are you prepared for what I need you to do?
(pause, then loudly)
Are you?

CAROLE KRACO
Yes.

LUCY DEVILLE
I will have Michael back. First, he will cower before me. How could he think he can just leave me? After, everything… Listen to me, we will get Sydney to dump him. That fuckin’ cow, how could he fuck her after me?
(The noise from outside, SOPHIA’s pacing, becomes louder as LUCY becomes angrier and rubs her temples as she is experiencing a migraine.)
We will destroy her. I’m not gonna be forgotten after all I did for that pile. I will be known again.
(LUCY exits stage right to the bathroom. The squeal from a faucet and then running water can be heard from off stage. LUCY is coughing up and spitting out phlegm. Water splashing can be heard as she splashes some water onto her face. LUCY enters the stage from the RIGHT to the main area where CAROLE is waiting. SOPHIA’s pacing can still be heard within the apt. LUCY winces in agony. LUCY holds her hands against her ears in an effort to drown out SOPHIA’s pacing. Then, LUCY breaks out into a rage pounding her fists into the air. LUCY lets out a blood curdling cry and runs for the front door. LUCY opens the door in quick motion and jumps directly onto SOPHIA, tackling her. They quickly stand up. LUCY regards SOPHIA in agony and disgust.)

LUCY DEVILLE cont’d
Do you realize how sick you are making me?

SOPHIA KRONE
Sorry. I didn’t want to knock and disturb you. I had to tell you something. I saw Michael last night.

LUCY DEVILLE
Was he with Sydney?

SOPHIA KRONE
Yes. I overheard him speaking to a few people. (pause) Lucy, Michael and Sydney are getting married.

LUCY DEVILLE
Piece of trash. (pauses) I’ll destroy him.
(CAROLE exits the apt and stops near LUCY and SOPHIA)

CAROLE KRACO
Do we start today?

LUCY DEVILLE
Now. Call Racine and tell her to meet me at eleven o’clock in the Union Hall to discuss our plans.

ACT I, SCENE 2. INT. UNIVERSITY, MAIN BLDG – AFTERNOON.
Across the large room, stage right, we can see a gathering of women. A discussion is being lead by LUCY and RACINE. Stage left, we see MICHAEL and SYDNEY enter the building with packages from the school store in their hands. RACINE, LUCY, SOPHIA, CAROLE, DOREEN, LORI and the others at the table erupts with laughter. LUCY glances across the room and notices MICHAEL and SYDNEY.

LUCY DEVILLE
What we need is organization. Racine has an outline which she will give to each of you tonight. It’s important that you read it thoroughly. It will go over your roll in the overall scheme and also point out your weaknesses in certain areas.
(LUCY points to three women in the group)
For instance, Doreen and Lori, you need to be more aggressive in your gossiping. I’m telling you, you need to spread it on thick and often. However, I am happy with our efforts to date. We seem to be successful at causing a strain on their relationship. Always keep in mind the objective, to break up Sydney and Michael by the end of next month.
(pauses to consider)
We’re meeting at Racine’s tomorrow night at eight o’clock. Then, we can finalize our plan of attack. Thank you everybody.
(LUCY gathers her belongings off the table. The crowd of women disperses. SYDNEY has walked over to LUCY while the women were discussing their plans.)

SYDNEY ROLLINS
(to LUCY)
You sorry bitch. You need help in the worst way. Do you think having your little witches spread lies about me is going to get Michael back? He doesn’t want you. He wants me. You need to move on.

LUCY DEVILLE
Ah, Sydney it’s always a pleasure to smell your stench. Why don’t you bend down and suck on my ass for all I care about your opinion.
(RACINE laughs. MICHAEL approaches SYDNEY and LUCY.)

SYDNEY ROLLINS
That’s mighty Christian of ya, offerin’ me your ass an’ all but I think I’ll pass. You know, you’re real funny. Almost as funny as a pathetic loser who couldn’t stand to be dumped by a man so she stalks him and threatens his new girlfriend, excuse me, fiancée.
(MICHAEL tugs SYDNEY’s arm in an effort to get her to move closer toward him and look at him.)

MICHAEL RILEY
What the hell do you mean threaten you?
(We see SYDNEY get angry at MICHAEL’s involvement.)
I never heard this.
(SYDNEY wrestles free of MICHAEL’s grip and runs away.)
Sydney, wait. Sydney!
(to LUCY)
What are you pullin’ now, Lucy?

LUCY DEVILLE
I think Sydney must be hittin’ the sauce again. I don’t know what she’s talkin’ about.

MICHAEL RILEY
Get this ’cause its the last time I’m gonna tell ya. I don’t want you. You make me sick. Leave me and Sydney alone.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hey, I have absolutely no problem with that. I think you are forgetting who came up to who. I was just standing here having a lovely conversation with Racine when your lunatic girlfriend lost her senses and starts ranting and raving at me.
(MICHAEL walks away in disgust.)
Have a nice day now,
(aside)
Piece of shit.
(We watch LUCY’s face as she seems a bit shaken for a few moments but then her expression becomes resolute. To RACINE)
Did you see that? Sydney was keeping the threats a secret from Michael. They’re fallin’ apart.

RACINE WINTERS
Where ya goin’ now?

LUCY DEVILLE
Theology.

RACINE WINTERS
Professor Blenk, huh?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, I completely hate his style. He never gives you any answers. He only asks questions and never tells us a thing.

RACINE WINTERS
I don’t know why you are majoring in that shit. It’s a complete waste of time.

LUCY DEVILLE
How can God be a waste of time?

ACT I. SCENE 3. INT. UNIVERSITY, CLASSROOM.
Stage left is blacked out but is to be the hall outside the classroom the stage is divided by the classroom wall and door. Stage right contains the classroom setting. It is the afternoon Professor Blenk stands at the back of the classroom. His desk is imagined to be in the front of the all the desks facing them but cannot be seen in the stage setup. All desks are facing the audience. Most students appear interested in the lively discussion on the existence of God.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(repeating the statement WILL just made and looking forward to the backs of the students)
So, you think that it has to do with a need that people have to believe that God exists. In your opinion, is that why there is religion? Did God create religion or did people?

WILL COURTLAND
(turns around in his seat to see PROFESSOR BLENK)
God didn’t invent religion. Man did, out of necessity.
(LUCY fidgeting in her seat)
I’m not disputing whether or not God exists. I have no evidence either way.
(PROFESSOR BLENK walks toward the front of the class and WILL moves accordingly while speaking)
I can’t reconcile the version of a benevolent, forgiving God that is in my imagining to the same God represented by Christian religion. What I mean by “God represented by Christian religion” – is a God that would subscribe to original sin, that would damn us for seeking knowledge, that would require our guilt for having sex
(LUCY is visibly upset)
and eating meat on Fridays. Basically, it doesn’t make sense.

PROFESSOR BLENK
Lucy, you look like you have something to contribute to this discussion.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m not at all interested in this discussion.

PROFESSOR BLENK
(smiles)
My mistake.

PAUL FLETCHER
I really believe that although we don’t always understand exactly what God is alluding to in the bible, it is his word and it must be respected and followed without fail.
(LUCY’s face reveals satisfaction)

PROFESSOR BLENK
You read the assignment right, Paul?

PAUL FLETCHER
Yes I did.

PROFESSOR BLENK
The assignment revealed the inconsistencies in the bible’s narratives for the Passion, correct?

PAUL FLETCHER
That’s correct.

PROFESSOR BLENK
So even in the face of these inconsistencies you still believe that these narratives contain the actual word of God?

LUCY DEVILLE
(anxious)
Professor Blenk, just face facts. It seems to be your assertion that anyone who believes in the truth of scriptures is an idiot.

PROFESSOR BLENK
That is absolutely not true, Lucy.

LUCY DEVILLE
(Stage left lights up we see students milling about and a group of three students approaching the classroom door.)
I don’t see how any other conclusion can be drawn. You…
(The classroom door opens, the group of students start walking through the door but stop when they see the previous class in session.)

STUDENT AT THE DOORWAY
It’s time for class, right, Professor?

PROFESSOR BLENK
Yes, of course, we’ll continue this discussion next time.
(All the seated students start clearing their desks and grab their belongings and start to leave.)
Class dismissed.
(The entering students go to find their seats. LUCY walks out of the classroom door and PAUL follows her out. Stage right goes black and quiet. LUCY is looking up and taking a deep breath. PAUL approaches her.)

ACT I. SCENE 4. INT. UNIVERSITY, CLASSROOM HALLWAY.
Stage right fades to black.

PAUL FLETCHER
Hey, Lucy. Thanks for backing me up in there.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, I didn’t do it for you. I believe that Professor Blenk is not a very good teacher. I think he wants us all to stop believing in God because he is a reformed minister. I can’t believe that they let agnostics teach theology.

PAUL FLETCHER
I know.
(pauses)
Did you read the assignment?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, some of it. I stopped when I got really pissed off.
(pauses)
I get it ya know there are inconsistencies from gospel to gospel but that means absolutely nothing as to what God’s plans are for us.
(looks at PAUL intently)
It means nothing.

PAUL FLETCHER
I couldn’t agree more.
(seeming uncomfortable)
Would…

LUCY DEVILLE
I mean what is so wrong about believing in God, right?

PAUL FLETCHER
Nothing.

LUCY DEVILLE
That should be a good thing, shouldn’t it?

PAUL FLETCHER
It is
(pause)
a good thing.

LUCY DEVILLE
You know the way Professor Blenk thinks is really evil. I might have to find a way to relieve him of his duties here. Well,
(turning to face PAUL)
see ya.
(LUCY turns to leave)

PAUL FLETCHER
(PAUL grabs LUCY’s arm before she walks off)
Hey, ya wanna go out with me on Friday night
(pauses)
to the movies or something.

LUCY DEVILLE
(surprised)
Yes
(she looks down and back up at PAUL and smiles)
why not?

PAUL FLETCHER
That’s encouraging.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m sorry I’ve got a lot of complications in my life at present but why not complicate it some more. I think I can handle it if you can?

PAUL FLETCHER
I think I can handle it for sure.

LUCY DEVILLE
Meet me at the union at six o’clock, then. Friday night.

PAUL FLETCHER
Great. See ya then.

ACT I. SCENE 5. INT. RACINE WINTER’S PAREN T’S HOME – NIGHT.
We can see a lovely family room in an upscale home. We see LUCY and RACINE in a deep discussion whilst five other ladies, SOPHIA, CAROLE, DOREEN, LORI, and DEBBIE are chatting a lot less intently as they sit on the sofa and take sips of their drinks.

RACINE WINTERS
I’m glad you could all make it here tonight. Lucy and I are very pleased to see you all here. With this many people helping, we’re sure to reach our goal even sooner than we thought. I’m gonna let Lucy take over.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, as Racine said thank you so much for coming. I do appreciate it. Carole and Sophia, regarding the other day, I’m very sorry for my rude behavior. I have been experiencing some of the worst migraine pain I’ve ever had and I do apologize for my short temper. Tonight we are here to discuss the plans for the destruction of Sydney and Michael’s relationship.
(pause)
You all know my story and empathize with my situation. I know you all feel as I do that a great injustice has been done to me
(all in attendance except DEBBIE nods)
and Debbie I know you just out and out hate Sydney
(DEBBIE nods in agreement)
and are anxious to help us in our plans.
(pauses, LUCY has a stack of stapled papers that she picks up off the coffee table and hands out to all the others as she speaks.)
I’ve talked it through with Racine and she really thinks this plan will do the trick in short order.

SOPHIA KRONE
After we destroy their relationship then what?

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, I don’t want to get ahead of ourselves. The plan so far is just to put so much pressure on them that they break up.

SOPHIA KRONE
But the point is to get you and Michael back together too, right?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, of course what are you getting at.

SOPHIA KRONE
I think this plan should also include making you look good in general. I think we really need to distance ourselves from you so that no one will suspect you are behind all of this.
(raises the pack of papers)
You shouldn’t be associating with us at all.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, you guys are going to need guidance and information as to how to break up the two of them. I can’t stay away from you all the time.

RACINE WINTERS
No. I think that is a great idea. We make you look like the good guy. The rumor is you don’t like hanging out with us because we gossip too much and are mean, blah blah. Maybe we could use it to our advantage further down the road. Good call Sophia. I can hold down the fort and you and I can converse through email.

LUCY DEVILLE
(considering)
Yeah, I think that could be good but then who am I gonna hang out with.

RACINE WINTERS
(teasingly)
How about Paul from your Theology class?

LUCY DEVILLE
How’d you know about that?

RACINE WINTERS
We know everything that goes on and I do mean everything. Paul might be a good way to make Michael jealous. You know if we need that down the road. We have to keep many balls in the air on this project. I think the only way to accomplish goals is to keep an open mind about how to achieve success. I think that is what separates us from the losers when we win all the time. And when we put our minds to something we will see it to its rightful conclusion. You will have Michael again and soon.

LUCY DEVILLE
I have no doubt of it. Failure is definitely not an option. My salvation depends on our success.
(thoughtful)
Paul might be fun, he’s got a nice smile.

RACINE WINTERS
Yes, he looks nice.
(they both laugh)

DEBBIE KLATCH
Yeah, well I don’t want to interrupt your love fest over there but I don’t give a rat’s ass about you and Michael and Paul. I want to destroy Sydney that’s my only purpose. I think it might be well that I work independent of your crew, Lucy.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well if that’s how you feel it is certainly alright with me.

DEBBIE KLATCH
I’m not at all concerned about your image in this scheme so I don’t want any part of that detail but I assure you that I won’t compromise what has been confided in me here tonight and I will stay in touch with Sophia in order to coordinate our efforts.

LUCY DEVILLE
That’s fine. Whatever way you can help. It is very much accepted. I completely understand your viewpoint. Sophia, you are contact person to Debbie on this, okay?

SOPHIA KRONE
Absolutely not a problem.

LUCY DEVILLE
Alright ladies as of tonight we officially release the dogs of war.

ACT I. SCENE 6. INT. LUCY DEVILLE’S STUDIO APT – LATE EVENING.
After Paul and Lucy’s date, Paul and Lucy enter Lucy’s apt. Lucy takes her coat off and places it on the coat stand by the door. Paul does the same

LUCY DEVILLE
(laughs)
Do you want something to drink or anything?

PAUL FLETCHER
Yeah, that would be great.
(LUCY motions for him to sit down on the sofa/bed. LUCY walks into the kitchen area of the apt and looks in the cabinet)

LUCY DEVILLE
You want to do shots?

PAUL FLETCHER
Yeah, sure why not.
(LUCY pulls the bottle from the cabinet along with two shot glasses)

LUCY DEVILLE
I get drunk easy.
(LUCY walks back to the sofa and sits)

PAUL FLETCHER
I knew there was a reason why I liked you so much.
(LUCY pours the drinks into the shot glasses)

LUCY DEVILLE
(laughs)
So what do you think of Professor Blenk?
(takes a gulp pours another)

PAUL FLETCHER
Oh, he’s okay. He just doesn’t believe in God like you and I do.

LUCY DEVILLE
Paul, he doesn’t believe in God at all.
(takes another gulp pours another)

PAUL FLETCHER
Well, I think he does believe he cannot let go of God completely.
(takes a gulp pours another)

LUCY DEVILLE
Did he ever say that to you?

PAUL FLETCHER
Hell no he never said anything to me like that I just have a feeling.
(takes a gulp pours another)

LUCY DEVILLE
Because you want to have the feeling, you know you don’t want to feel badly toward him, right.
(takes a gulp pours another)

PAUL FLETCHER
No, that’s not it. I just don’t know how anyone even an unbeliever like Professor Blenk could not truly feel God around them.
( takes a gulp pours another)

LUCY DEVILLE
Is this a race or something?
(referring to the frenzied shot drinking she starts laughing)

PAUL FLETCHER
Yes, I’d love to see you a little drunk.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, uninhibited.

PAUL FLETCHER
Yeah, totally uninhibited. How many more shots for that?

LUCY DEVILLE
(laughs)
Mmmmm no more.

PAUL FLETCHER
(confused)
Really?

LUCY DEVILLE
Really, so, do you want to fuck me?

PAUL FLETCHER
Oh, God, yes I do.
(PAUL lunges for LUCY and they start making out very vigorously and start tearing each others clothes off. LUCY starts sobbing uncontrollably.)
I’m sorry are you alright?

LUCY DEVILLE
(trying to compose herself)
Yes, I don’t know why I’m so upset. I’m not usually like this. I…

PAUL FLETCHER
(interrupting)
Shhhh, it’s okay really. I mean maybe we should slow down.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, maybe that’s a good idea.
(pauses)
Have you heard any rumors about me?

PAUL FLETCHER
Besides that you are the hottest girl in the whole place, no.

LUCY DEVILLE
(smiles)
Well, my first semester I was very serious with Michael Riley.

PAUL FLETCHER
Yeah, I would see you with him for the classes we all had last semester.

LUCY DEVILLE
We had classes together last semester? I didn’t even know.

PAUL FLETCHER
Yeah, I know.

LUCY DEVILLE
Anyway, I was very serious with Michael, very serious.

PAUL FLETCHER
Yeah, I kinda got that impression.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’ve been a wreck really. I’m starting to get things back in order. I’m working on a plan.

PAUL FLETCHER
Am I part of the plan?

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, I’m still working on it, so maybe.

PAUL FLETCHER
I’ll take that. I’ll take that.
(pause, there is a knock at the front door)

LUCY DEVILLE
Oh, man, I bet that’s my mother.

PAUL FLETCHER
(shocked)
Your mom, oh no.
(both are hurriedly putting their clothes back on and making the bed. Lucy moves to the door, peaks thru the peep hole to make sure its her mom.)

LUCY DEVILLE
Knew it was her.
(opens the door)
Hi, mom.

BETH DEVILLE
(looks LUCY over as she walks in)
What were you doing?
(notices PAUL)
Hmmm, up to no good I see.
(LUCY closes the door)

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, chill out. This is Paul we were just on a date.

PAUL FLETCHER
Hel…

BETH DEVILLE
(interrupting)
A date? I thought you were with Michael.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, you know we broke up.
(gives PAUL a look like “don’t listen to her”)

BETH DEVILLE
Well I believe that you and Michael are destined to be together. No offense, Paul, is it?

PAUL FLETCHER
Ummm

BETH DEVILLE
You see I just don’t want you to get hurt, Paul. You can’t fight what is meant to be.

LUCY DEVILLE
Mom, enough already. Paul, I think we will have to call it quits for tonight.
(smiles in his direction)
I have to talk with my mother obviously. Thanks, I had a great time. Give me a call, okay?
(walks to the door and opens it and PAUL follows)

PAUL FLETCHER
I’ll call you tomorrow. Good night, good night.
(exits stage right LUCY closes the door)

BETH DEVILLE
What the hell are you doing with that boy? Are you fucking him?

LUCY DEVILLE
(laughs)
I wanted to but no we didn’t.

BETH DEVILLE
(smacks LUCY in the face)
What the hell is wrong with you? You need to stay focused. I can’t believe you are going to mess everything up again. Do you need to make the same mistake over and over again?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, I do mom because I’m a horny moron. I like fucking. I want to do it all the time.

BETH DEVILLE
Lu..
(starts coughing uncontrollably)
..cy,
(shrieking)
you need to be a good girl now.
(she takes a tissue from her bag and spits up into it)
Oh, God, please help me. Help me save my child.

LUCY DEVILLE
(disgusted)
I think you need to worry about yourself.

BETH DEVILLE
(crying and screaming)
After all I’ve done for you. I gave up my life for you, ungrateful girl. My dreams and ambitions, my uterus, all to have you. I have loved you like no other, better than myself and you sit there with your salvation hanging in the balance and scoff at me whilst I’m dying of cancer. Am I a joke to you?

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes, I think you’re hysterical.

BETH DEVILLE
I love you, Lucy with all my heart and soul.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yeah, I’m all tingly. What do you really want? I was just about to get laid so it better be good.
(she throws herself down on the bed her mom sits beside her)

BETH DEVILLE
How did I fail you?

LUCY DEVILLE
You had me.

BETH DEVILLE
(contrite)
I’m sorry I failed you. I hope you are making amends to God though, regardless of your feelings for me.
(she coughs and spits up more into the tissue)

LUCY DEVILLE
(considering and softening)
It’s all on, mom. My friends are in the process of breaking up Sydney and Michael and Paul is a way to get Michael jealous if necessary. It’s all good. Seriously, don’t worry about me. You taught me everything I know. I’ll get what I need and appease God and you. I’ll make you proud of me yet.

BETH DEVILLE
(composing herself)
Good this has been pressing on me for a while. I’m glad you are finally doing something about it.

LUCY DEVILLE
How’s dad?

BETH DEVILLE
As usual, very well. He just won another big client for the firm. They love him over there. He got a raise and we are going on a cruise in a few months if I don’t die before then that is.

LUCY DEVILLE
I have a feeling you’ll live.

BETH DEVILLE
Much to your dismay.

LUCY DEVILLE
I’m really not feeling well lately either.

BETH DEVILLE
Oh really what’s wrong.

LUCY DEVILLE
Well, ever since I
(pauses)
well anyway for a while I just haven’t been feeling too well, migraines and allergies. I cough a lot and spit up phlegm, like you.

BETH DEVILLE
Don’t worry Lucy you don’t have cancer like me.

LUCY DEVILLE
(to herself)
Not like you at all.

BETH DEVILLE
What?

LUCY DEVILLE
Nothing.

BETH DEVILLE
I need to get back to your father.
(rises to leave)
You’ll be home next weekend?

LUCY DEVILLE
(rises as well)
We’ll see.

BETH DEVILLE
Your daddy misses you.
(walking toward the door, stage right, LUCY following)

LUCY DEVILLE
He can visit anytime he likes. He pays the rent.

BETH DEVILLE
(turns to face LUCY)
Well, fine. Bye.
(turns toward door)
Drop a line when it is all done.

LUCY DEVILLE
Yep.
(Beth exits stage right LUCY looks up)
Please, God, don’t let me be like her.

ACT I. SCENE 7. INT. UNIVERSITY, MAIN BLDG – AFTERNOON.
PAUL and LUCY are sitting at a table conversing. MICHAEL frantically enters from stage left. He sees LUCY and approaches her.

MICHAEL RILEY
What the hell are you up to now?

LUCY DEVILLE
Michael, what’s up?

MICHAEL RILEY
Knock it off. You need to stop this. I don’t understand any of this. You broke up with me. Why are you doing this?

LUCY DEVILLE
Michael, are you alright? I don’t know what you are talking about.

PAUL FLETCHER
(to LUCY)
I’ll give you some privacy. I’ll pick you up at six o’clock, okay?
(PAUL exits stage right)

LUCY DEVILLE
Yes that sounds great, see ya then.

MICHAEL RILEY
You’re going out with Paul?

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s none of your business.

MICHAEL RILEY
I didn’t think you would ever date anyone again a…

LUCY DEVILLE
(interrupting)
What do you want, Michael?

MICHAEL RILEY
Call off those bitches. They are ruining my life and Sydney’s life too.

LUCY DEVILLE
What bitches?

MICHAEL RILEY
Don’t be obtuse, Racine and Sophia and all of them.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hey, I didn’t want any part of those girls they do mean things for no reason. I told them to go scratch last week. They were trying to get dirt on you and Sydney and I wouldn’t help them. Racine hates me.

MICHAEL RILEY
What?

LUCY DEVILLE
It’s true. I’ll admit I thought they were a cool group to hang with but they are a sick bunch of puppies.

MICHAEL RILEY
I don’t believe you.

LUCY DEVILLE
You are well within your rights. I don’t really care to convince you.

MICHAEL RILEY
Why would Racine and her witch friends want to hurt Sydney and I.

LUCY DEVILLE
You should ask them. I have no idea.

MICHAEL RILEY
Yeah, right.
(SYDNEY and DEBBIE enters from stage left and approach the table)
I don’t believe you.

SYDNEY ROLLINS
(to MICHAEL)
What’s going on?

DEBBIE KLATCH
Hey, Michael.
(aside to SYDNEY)
Is that her?
(LUCY gives a surprised look to DEBBIE)

SYDNEY ROLLINS
(whispers)
Yes.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Oh.

LUCY DEVILLE
I know the fun is just starting but I’ve got to go.

DEBBIE KLATCH
(to LUCY)
You need to stop.

SYDNEY ROLLINS
Stop Debbie, she’s just not worth it.

LUCY DEVILLE
Our realities don’t seem to be coinciding, I’m not doing anything.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Nobody is buying your goody two shoes act.

LUCY DEVILLE
Who are you, anyway?

DEBBIE KLATCH
I don’t know how you can stand yourself.

LUCY DEVILLE
I like me. I don’t like you, whoever you are.

SYDNEY ROLLINS
Debbie, it will make things worse.

LUCY DEVILLE
(to SYDNEY)
I’ve moved on. I’m with someone else and I no longer hang with Racine and her crew. We had a falling out over you guys actually.

SYDNEY ROLLINS
Yeah, I believe in fairies too.

LUCY DEVILLE
You do? Me too. I really could care less what you think. I know what the truth is.

DEBBIE KLATCH
Don’t trust her, Syd. She’s a snake.

LUCY DEVILLE
Hisssssssss! See ya, well maybe not.
(LUCY walks away. MICHAEL follows and SYDNEY watches. LUCY is reaching in her purse for her phone as MICHAEL catches up to her.)

MICHAEL RILEY
Lucy, wait a minute.

LUCY DEVILLE
(turns to face him)
What’s up?

MICHAEL RILEY
I know the girl I used to be in love with and she left a long time ago. I don’t want to hate you. I don’t want to believe that someone I loved so much would hurt me like this.
(LUCY is visibly shaken)
Please look me in the eye and tell me the truth.

LUCY DEVILLE
(looks directly into MICHAEL’s eyes)
I am not a part of this. Racine is as much my enemy now as she is yours.
(pauses)
Look, I know you won’t take it but if you need my help with any of this, just ask.

MICHAEL RILEY
Okay, thanks. Good luck with Paul. He’s a nice guy.

LUCY DEVILLE
(smiles)
Thanks.
(MICHAEL turns and walks toward SYDNEY and DEBBIE. LUCY dials her phone.)
Hey, Racine. Yeah. I miss you guys too but I am having fun with Paul.
(pause)
Yeah it’s nice sized. Listen,
(she walks further frontstage and to the left away from MICHAEL, SYDNEY and DEBBIE and turns to look at them nonchalantly when she feels she is far enough away.)
I think things are going well. I’ve almost got Michael convinced that I’m not behind any of the problems he and Sydney are having.
(listens)
I know can you believe it. I’m thinking to make it look even more believable and to help Michael and us bond we need an enemy in common. So, I’m thinking put me on your hit list. I told Michael you and me had a falling out because I wouldn’t volunteer information about him and Sydney.
(listens)
No, they didn’t really buy that but maybe they will if you and the gals start bashing on me and lighten up on them a little. Spread a lie about me liking box or something and you guys think I’m gross.
(laughs)
You are so much better at this than I am but make up something that will hurt me deeply because I’m so religious and that couldn’t possibly be true.
(listens and gets angry)
That is off limits and you are not to ever bring that up again.
(listens)
Okay that just needs to be crystal clear.
(LUCY looks over to see MICHAEL, SYDNEY and DEBBIE again)
Oh damn, that Debbie chick is white hot ruthless. She is Sydney’s best friend. I didn’t know that.
(listens)
Yeah, I guess I was out of it for a while. Okay so we are all over this right? This is gonna be so good.

END OF ACT I

Act Two      Act Three

15 thoughts on “Three Heel Clicks: Act One, a play in three acts

  1. Is this a play or a pilot for a new prime-time series? Anyway, this reminds me of a bizarre situation from long ago in my own life. The friends of a woman I wasn’t interested in (but was never rude to) were psychotically hassling me about not being interested in her. They were spreading VERY bizarre rumors about me (and unfortunately my eccentric nature made nothing seem unbelievable where I’m concerned) and a friend of theirs in management actually tried to cost me my job. If I had to picture their bizarre conversations about it it this play would probably be a close transcript of it.

    Anyway, that event is why I always twist the old saying by maintaining that “Hell hath no fury like THE FRIENDS of a woman scorned.”

    • It’s definitely a play. Wow, that is so disturbing about your story. People do some messed up stuff and don’t even realize the magnitude of their own cruelty. I like the variation on your saying. Cheers!

  2. Pingback: Three Heel Clicks: Act Two, a play in three acts | unga bunga girl

  3. Pingback: Kim Karda…Wait, I thought of something… « Photographess

  4. Pingback: Three Heel Clicks: Act Three, a play in three acts | unga bunga girl

Leave a Reply

