Embarrassment

As I enter, the prospect of finding you turns me on

The aroma of coffee penetrates as I make my way through

There you are, always with books on Metaphysics

Looking for new reading exulted by the critics.

I feel like messin’ with you.

Damn! Your bum looks good in those jeans.

I gleefully stride right up behind you

Grab your derriere, sidle next to you, and in your ear proclaim,

“Reading rots your brain!”

I’m laughing, still squeezing tightly and my mouth is so close to your ear.

Why are you so frozen?

Why do you reek of cologne?

And, when did baby get SO much back?

I turn to look into a pair of eyes, my stranglehold grip subsides and I stare at someone I’ve never met.

“Holy fuck! I’m sorry, dude. I thought you were…”

The stranger’s face is flushed and in turn so does mine.

His eyes have softened where I wish I’d go blind.

That welling of embarrassment, the indescribable feeling of suffocating on one’s errors.

It’s difficult remembering these times.

I’d like to burn it from my mind leaving a scorched area when on replay only burnt edges will remain.

Explode the memory from my recall, blow it up so that it mushroom clouds away and I will never have to feel embarrassment again.

18 thoughts on “Embarrassment

  1. Hahahaha…. It’s as bad as when you say sooooo enthusiastically… Oh Hiiiiiii there how are you? And…. it’s not the person you thought it was……LOL This made me giggle. Thanks.

  2. Well now Cathy, if you want to sidle up behind me and grab my bum please feel free to do so!!! ๐Ÿ™‚

    Why do these things never happen to me?? ๐Ÿ™‚

    David

Leave a Reply

