5,000 Distractions

I want to stay outside and play!
Huge tracts of distraction on the way.

Coming in to the arctic of a kitchen table and required paperwork.
Where’s that pen? No, not that pen, the good pen, yeah that one.

Itchy areola! Don’t scratch ’til it bleeds ‘cuz the pain later is worse
but that itch is like a crease in a tablecloth on my brain that I can never get straight.
IT DRIVES ME FREAKIN’ INSANE!

Laundry?
I never do laundry until I need clean clothes.
Why now?

Man! I hope I never have to tangle with a tornado.

Moisturizing bothersome body parts.

Trying to put my mouth in a meditative state so I won’t be able to think about so much stupid junk.
How DO you do that anyway?

Counting the threads in a pillow case.
Three hundred! Really?
That is way too many to count.
How many responses to my comment thread?
Zero.
I’ll go back to counting my pillowcase threads instead.

Visions of him and I writhing on a bed
me, begging to be made liquid again

Shake it off and get to work
address no fun address blah, blah, blah

I have many strands of hair enough to keep me warm at this table of a tundra
a barren landscape of fill in the blanks.
Man! The tedium of a form!

Music will do the trick of bringing focus to this boring task.
Aiming to keep on course so something classical perhaps.

Heavy lids that cannot stay awake
I will withdraw because it is much too late.
And face
the cold again
tomorrow night.

16 thoughts on “5,000 Distractions

  1. You have such great images here of that tundra time. The pillowcase threads — brilliant! That one should eat up hours!

    What’s the meditative state a person can put their mouth in? It sounds practical — if you figure it out, let us know.

    • Thanks. I’ve read that your tongue is directly connected to your thoughts, I don’t know how or if that is true. And if you can relax your tongue, you can stop that chatter in your head so that you can go deeper into a meditative state. I’ve not really been able to master it.

  2. My smile got broader as I read down this poem.

    But now I am totally distracted by a meditative tongue and last night’s kiss!!

    David

  3. Distractions distractions 🙂 I can totally relate to this one, loved it :). Been away for a while studying for exams so gonna catch up on the rest of your posts soooon 🙂 keep blogging amazingness!

  4. Pingback: Distinguishing Distractibility « ADD . . . and-so-much-more

Leave a Reply

