The Sustained Note

never lasts…

Like the last note in the Beatles “A Day in the Life

Hendrix tries to hit that beast at the conclusion of “Wild Thing” and lights it on fire.

But it always expires, it always fades into nothing.

In Goreki’s “Symphony of Sorrowful Songs“,
I can hear that pitch of agony throughout most of the movement
but then it drowns
in a wave of divergent sounds.

I know that I will always hit that wall.
Come up to the face of nothingness
and flail against the void

How can I accept that everything is recycled?
Perhaps, reborn to suffer the agony of the ending again.
All of it in labor of tremolo, a disguise of nourishment;
left hungry in the end.

10 thoughts on “The Sustained Note

  1. This is beautiful but I feel badly about the melancholy tone of so much of your output lately. I hope you’re exorcising these feelings through the writing. If you are down just picture my crazy giving your crazy a big hug again!

  2. This is a wonderful poem which left me pondering.

    It brought to mind a poem by Alden Nowlan called “A Poem about Miracles” which begins –

    “Why don’t records go blank
    the instant the singer dies?”

    Another poem which left me pondering

    Terrific Cathy
    David

    • Hey David,

      Thank you. I’ll have to look that poem up. I’m sure I’ll enjoy it since I love that line from it, the sentiment and the style.
      I wrote this poem the other night on impulse but again it sort of took me over.

      Cathy

  3. i feel the temporariness is what keeps us anchored to the present
    and in fact what makes any life worth living

    everything must come to an end… sooner or later… but we have a hand in how long it lasts
    at least from our end.

    what else can one do, but cope.

    to the circle… that makes us all dizzy with fear and loathing…
    and deliriousness.
    🙂

Leave a Reply

