VESTED

For what person would I endure a tidal wave?
The feel of going under, the anguish of surviving
Not knowing if you’re dying or in exile on the shore

I won’t be vested to someone who doesn’t swim.
I won’t be left alone.

My mother talks to herself about the devil
Flappin’ church leaflets in her lap for hours
She converses with fantasies as night draws close

I won’t be vested to someone who doesn’t swim.
I won’t be left alone.

Supposed friends talkin’ smack behind my back
Others, lost, walking through newspaper mazes
A sister eatin’ tree bark, a brother’s temper shown

I won’t be vested to someone who doesn’t swim.
I won’t be left alone.

16 thoughts on “VESTED

    • Thank you very much. It’s funny what even prompted this poem was the idea of pensions and having to work five years until you become fully vested. And the life vest was incidental. I was using swimming as a metaphor for living. So I was definitely unaware of all the meanings as I was writing it. Funny.

Leave a Reply

