don’t violate me with pretense

You stroke my hair
and tell me of vulnerabilities and we share
the within, outside the very next day you cut me up to all your friends.

Churches with front doors wide open in blinding brightness leads
to the back door shrouded in despair, through it, victims leave unseen

Momma government takes care of me when I’m in need or so it seems
but when I call on you, I’m forced to run the gulag to get the aid you promised me

Cover your scars your wrinkles and even cellulite
You are what you are even in broad daylight

I am pained, flawed and mentally unsure but with a sense of mirth
What are you? pomp and circumstance or true! What’s it worth?

14 thoughts on “don’t violate me with pretense

  1. I say, bonk him with your club! and im liking tis poem. especialy this: Churches with front doors wide open in blinding brightness leads
    to the back door shrouded in despair, through it victims leave unseen

  2. Terrific poem Cathy,

    A powerful cry for understanding.

    I too liked the verse about the churches. I have a faith which sustains me, but little time for the hypocrisy of organised religion

Leave a Reply

