I follow a stream, a stream of consciousness that is

I follow a stream

I feel like I go off on tangents all the time. I rarely follow one train of thought. I’m a topic hopper. If you like to bounce around topics, we’ll get along just fine. If you like to follow one train of thought, we might have problems. Not serious problems though because I really do like to have fun.

I write mostly with this method of giving myself over to wherever my mind will take me. It’s a great device for poetry. I almost don’t have to think in a way it all just comes out. Not thinking really works for me. I mean I do it all the time. It’s when I actually think that I run into problems. That’s what happened when I researched streams of consciousness on the net.

I became confused … because I was thinking. On my research jag, I found this writing device called automatic writing. It’s something good old Freud came up with to get all those inner thoughts out into the open. It’s basically writing on automatic pilot which is how I feel I write. Now I’m not sure what to do with this post because things are not coming together. So I go further. I like to go for broke.

So then, I came across this blurb on spiritualists that use automatic writing to communicate with spirits from beyond. Maybe I’m not really writing any of this and it’s just some crazy bad ghostie controlling my fingers as I tap at the words that I think seem to make sense in some backward way.

I don’t know how to wind this sucker up. As such, here is my poem and I seriously I don’t know how the heck I wrote it. Oh well, such is life.

I follow a stream

it would seem
a simple thing
but I fight it for thinking linearly

Where this will lead I’ll never know
travelling today and more tomorrow

I follow a stream to the other side of the moon
where wolf dogs howl and other travelers loom

I see a tree blossom fully with books
and horses with pink saddles and fishermen without hooks

I follow a stream to a river then ocean
engulfed in oblivion; feeling like lotion

I start on a raft and then stop on a liner
Views of still beauty from a comforting recliner

I follow a stream further, deeper down a channel
now facing the darkness, it’s reality I can’t handle.

I followed the stream ending wherever it ends
real world or mind travel, which is better?
It depends.

For some Freud fun, check out the word association game on the forums.

freud

lil freud says:

“Fun, what is dis fun, I don’t do fun. So just tell me already, you vant to sleep wiz your fahzer or what.”

17 thoughts on “I follow a stream, a stream of consciousness that is

  1. I do find it best to get the conscious mind out of the way when I am writing poetry – it only wants to criticize and interfere!!

    Your poem left me smiling and with a sense of delight

    That will do for me

  2. Hello There! I really liked this post ๐Ÿ™‚ I can totally relate, when I write poetry, sometimes I have no clue where the words come pouring out from… and in the end I’ve written something so long, it can be edited into two or three different poems lol. Keep the randomness coming, its working for you!

  3. Love it! I can’t write poetry my self, so I’m jealous and impressed with anyone who can. Nice work ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. I’ve been reading all these dedicated redrafters who made me feel guilty! I am more like you – I just, well, I just write. What comes out, comes out. Although poetry very rarely comes out. I have one poem on my blog and it might be a very long time before another eventuates!

    Agree with ZuZu – it works for you!

    • Thank you so much. Thinking and me don’t agree. I’m going to check out your poem. I hate to admit it but I’m not familiar with the redrafter term but I guess they follow a certain process for writing. I tried google but it just came up with a video game. See ya soon!

    • Thank you so much.

      I’m not too familiar with Joyce. I tried to read “Ulysses” once but I just couldn’t get through it. I’ll try your suggestions though. I really enjoy Shakespeare and many people find his work hard to read. So, I definitely don’t want to give up on Joyce because of a bad experience many years ago.

  5. Zug zug unga bunga girl! This poem is fantastic. It has all the elements I like. Particularly wolf dogs and travelers on the moon. It reminded me of a good Robert Heinlein story about a boy who skied on the moon with his pet.

  6. Pingback: Battle ready, brain ready: a stream of consciousness reflection « kansas reflections

Leave a Reply

